'I Paint Music' and other facts about a new Steemian

IMG_20180629_201357.jpg

Hey, Steemians, my name is Shelby. I live in in the beautiful state of Colorado where I am a writer, artist, and general creator.

And, yes, you read correctly--I paint music. I have a mild form of synesthesia that allows me to visualize music and sound as color, texture, and pattern, and one of my favorite things to do is attempt to capture the dance of colors going on in my head when I hear a song on a canvas.

I have a few other creative pursuits, too.

journal spread with light pastel colors painted on the background with the words 'all I want to be is whites on waves' written in a curly cursive.

Two journals held up so the edges of the pages are visible. One is fat from use, the other slim and new.

For the last two and a half years I have kept what I call a "visual journal" after many, many failed attempts to maintain a written diary. I've so far filled two notebooks with paintings, poems, collages, and other multimedia creations to capture my life and experiences. You can find more pictures from my journal on my Instagram (handle there is also universeofdust). I'm a passionate writer. I write in just about every genre of fiction (except romance--blegh!) as well as poetry, creative non-fiction, and more. I'll also read just about any book I can get my hands on, and try to read about fifty books every year (a goal I am quite behind on so far this year--ahh!).

a brown floppy-eared rabbit sniffing at a cup full of water with a paintbrush in it.
Obi likes to help me paint sometimes.

Creative expression has become an extremely important part of my life over the last several years, especially as a person living with mental and physical health problems. I've been living with chronic depression and anxiety since my middle school years, and nearly four years ago I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes.

When I'm not creating, I love listening to music, attending concerts, camping in the mountains, playing Dungeons & Dragons, spending time with my family and friends, and exploring the world around me. I also have a pet rabbit named Obi-Bun Kenobi (Obi for short). He's a sweet little monster, but I love him.

I learned about Steemit recently when I attended a panel at Denver Comic Con where @amrauthor, @falseyedols, @geke, and @lpfaust shared their knowledge and insight about the community. Thank you guys for inspiring me to give this a try! I am excited to share my ideas and creations with the Steemit community.

Thanks for reading,
Shelby

Sort:  

Hello universeofdust! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to the steem community :-)

Thank you!

Looking forward to seeing your creative pursuits! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you! I am excited.

Awesome! I love what you're doing, and look forward to seeing your art here on Steemit. I resonate with you in my passion for writing and general self expression. I'm going to resteem your post and see if it gets a little bit more love :)

Thank you so much! I appreciate the encouragement and the resteem!

@universeofdust I’m glad to see you decided to give Steemit a try, and the intro post is awesome.

I’d echo the words of @sunravelme and invite you to the Rocky Mountain Steemit community on Discord. Check out the events and drop by just say hello. We’d love to have you join us on some of our future Meetups.

I just downloaded Discord. I've never used it before, but I definitely want to get involved in some of the communities on there. Thanks for resteem, too.

I have the biggest smile right now!!! I am so happy to see you over here and to hear that you are here because you sat in on our panel. There are a lot of great supportive communities, and people are full of information, so feel free to reach out. I also recommend getting the Discord app whenever you get a chance, I'll invite you to some cool art groups :)

Also, I'm excited to see all the cool artwork you are going to put up!!!

Thank you so much! I would love to get into some more groups and meet some people.

Welcome 😀
I saw this late but will check out your latest content❤️

Welcome to Steemit! I'm so excited you're here- your art looks so cool! If you get a chance come join the Rocky Mountain steemit discord https://discord.gg/wRUx7EY
We do regular meet ups and support each other on steemit.

Thank you for the invite--I just joined!

Hey @universeofdust! You seem to be a very creative person by nature and I am glad that you have found yourself a form of expression that enables you to touch your feelings better than words could. Also, I am jealous of you living in Colorado, it is such a beautiful place. Great day to you and Obi!

Thank you! Colorado really is gorgeous. I'm very lucky.

Welcome to Steemit shelby
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Thank you for the warm welcome and the tips!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11