A disclaimer, a story, and an introduction.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Brimstone.jpg

Disclaimer: I am not a cultist.

##Story##

Sulfur, the alchemy symbol for which you will see above, has a beautiful (albeit confusing) history that spans nearly the entirety of humankind.

Stay with me, historical references always have purpose.
Plus, it's just a cool story. :)

Sanskrit is a language that places its origin at around the 2nd millennium BCE, and is potentially the first language to ever become widely known. It predates Latin by over a millennia, but Sanskrit's use as a language is very comparable: the scholars and wealthy spoke Sanskrit when they wanted to flaunt their affluence in gold-adorned parties over much-too-expensive beverages or keep records that needed to be read by people across multiple cultures. [1]

The name "sulfur" potentially comes from the Sanskrit word "shulbari," which literally translates to "enemy of copper." [2]

When you heat copper in a test tube with sulfur, the sulfur melts and evaporates without changing composition too much. However, the copper becomes crusted with a blue material that we now know as copper sulfide.

You have to look at history with a little bit of humor.

If I put two kids in the same room, and they started yelling and screaming and throwing punches, I'd quickly say that these two kids are enemies of each other. Early chemists used the same intuition for their experiments.

I value curiosity and unhindered experimentation above all else; that's the first thing you should know about me.

This is a good segue. :)

##Introduction##

I'm new to Steemit, so I thought I'd share one of my favorite stories from history as an icebreaker.

My name is Jon, and I have the pleasure of joining you all from talking with @dwells. I am a 19-year-old college student from upstate New York.

I love chemistry, and that is what the majority of my schooling involves. I will be sharing interesting stories from my own experiences working with the tricky beast of chemistry, along with the experiences of others.

I have recently fallen in love with graphic design, I practice it in my free time now. You can find my BrandCrowd page here (it is a little barren, unfortunately).

Thank you for welcoming me into your community. :)

Work Cited:
[1] http://aboutworldlanguages.com/sanskrit
[2] https://www.chemicool.com/elements/sulfur.html

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @umbraticdesigns! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you, will check out later. :)

HI!! Welcome to steemit! :)

I hope you will enjoy here! Looking forward for more post from you :)

Thank you, I'm sure I will. :)

hello welcome to steemit,
hope you find your place here.

read our guide for new steemit users to grow fastly
https://steemit.com/steemit/@smartivenabin/how-to-grow-fastly-on-steemit-for-newbies-begginers

Thanks, I gave it a read. You have some interesting points. :)

I committed a sin with the story: I used encyclopedia pages as sources. I hope you guys will go easy on my little blurb. XD

Great first post! You will find this platform more warm and inviting than Sola.

More warm and inviting, but definitely a steeper learning curve. :)

Oh yeah, Definitely a steep learning curve but there are so many how to posts out there, if you have the time to go thru them you can learn in a hurry. The best way to learn, is if you see something in a post and you don't know how to do it, just leave a comment on that post and ask the author how.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50