Writer/Poet/Malcontent Who Wants to Escape the Rat Race

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Steemit Photo.JPG

Heya. My name is Eric E. Smith. I'm a 31 year old, chronically unemployed "writer" living on the Gulf Coast near Mobile, Alabama. I spend my days in borderline derelict locations, leeching Wi-Fi and pretending I'm in a cafe somewhere in Paris, writing the next great work of art.

A lot of folks say "writing is their passion". While, I'm not inclined to say they are all liars, writing isn't necessarily my passion. It's a slog. But, it's also what I want to do for the rest of my life. It's still the best medium of expression, in my opinion.

If we want to talk about passions, mine would have to be poetry. It's a bitch of a thing to call oneself a "poet" nowadays in this world, It basically means you're a jackass of sorts, and more than likely not the most well-off individual financially. To paraphrase Rodney Dangerfield, we can't get no respect.

Poetry to me, however, is a crucial art. I'm not the most talented visual artist but with words, one can create many different landscapes within the mind (if they have the proclivity for it). Additionally, it takes a really special human being to be able to break down essential feelings and visions with scant amounts of verse. It is both a passion and a challenge to do so, and many times I feel spiritually drained after finishing up a particular piece.

I mentioned above being chronically unemployed. It's mostly my own fault, but my perspective on the issue of employment nowadays is an acidic one (especially for the residents of the United States, such as myself). Jobs are, by their very nature, not beneficial for the individual pursuing them, unless you work for a kickass company (rare!). I see it all as a lie, and one that I think a lot of folks are waking up to very slowly.

And yes, I'm a Millinneal. I have two bachelors degrees (Public Relations and Creative Writing). I value my education, even though most of the human race seemingly doesn't. No, I'm not entitled, though some days I try my hardest to be just for giggles.

The nature of work is changing. I hope to see its complete unveiling in my lifetime. With that said, I see Steemit as a viable option in order for me to escape the Race (or at the least, get my ass writing daily).

As soon as I came upon it, the very concept of a crowd-sourced, crowd-funded social media platform intrigued me. There is nobility in what is done here, as well as peer-accountability... which to my knowledge really doesn't exist much of anywhere else nowadays except maybe academia (and even then, it's rather dubious).

My hobbies include everything mentioned above, abstract expressionist/primitive art, photography, podcasting, Historical European Martial Arts (HEMA) and self-publishing.

My passion subjects are: Poetry/Literature. Strength/resistance training. Masculinity and its changing meaning. Occultism and esotericism. Mythology and its meaning to modern man. Culture and societal critique, and motivating what I like to call one's "Inner Asshole".

So, I'm going to finish this introduction with a quote that shows how pretentious and intellectual I am (that's a joke, in case you don't get the inherent sarcasm). It defines my life quite well...

"I don't use the accident - cause I deny the accident." -Jackson Pollock

I look forward to interacting with you guys.

Link to my Facebook. ADD ME IF YOU FIND ME WORTHY :D

Regards,

-E. E. Smith

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you so much!

Hi there welcome to steemit hope you are having a great time here. =)
I wish you all the best and more power to you. =)

Thanks. Same to you!

Hi.. Welcome to Steemit

please follow me @daverdp..
I will follow you and upvote you

Thank you

Hello, welcome to steemit, I wish you luck !!!

Nice post.

I wish you all the best.

Feel free to check out my blog @maxdigi, this way we can support each other.

Cheers
maxidigi

Hey, Welcome to steemit. I think if you have a creative, inquiring mind you’ll fit right in here (and it seems like you do from this post!). Have fun! By the way, here are some tips that helped me getting started. See you around! @lilyraabe

Thank you much!

Eric, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I've leeched WIFI. Someday, we will maybe have short wave radio style internet, I hope, that can be more peer to peer to bypass ISP and everything, globally. I like writing. I learned some karate. Passion is a good foundation for productivity, for life in general.

Followed, just because you call yourself Oatmeal Joey :D

Congratulations @umbral.thorn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49