You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I’m an art therapist here to talk about life after a PhD, starting over, and living in a camper in the San Francisco Bay Area #introduceyourself

Welcome to Steemit @amy.hill. We're glad to have you. I think your new place is cute :D That sucks, good thing you found out about things before you were stuck in a house.

Nothing wrong with taking a step back for yourself. I cannot even fathom the amount of work you put in for your degree. That's just amazing. Art Therapy is completely under utilized(imo). Most great painters as we have found out suffered from mental health issues and turned to this as way to cope. With medications being introduced it seemed like we almost lost art. To bring it back is and utilize as a therapeutic purpose is/has been just wonderful.

I find when I am having moments, when I make myself go paint the world disappears. I have my music, my canvas, my paint and my mind. It is a nice place to be.

Sort:  

Thanks so much, @Tryskele! The camper is pretty cute, and I haven't had to do a thing to improve it. It was an interesting experience to graduate and realize that I spent much of my adult life (10 years) in higher education. I agree that art therapy is under utilized, which is partially what drew me to my doctorate program. It's wonderful to hear that you turn to painting and creative self-expression when things get tough. I do the same and try to help others find their own outlet. Thanks again!

You are very welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43