Introductory Post!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)
Hello!

My names Dpark and I'm deciding to migrate over from Instagram. Currently I have 34,000 followers, but here's a pic of my analytics from a few months back. I mainly repost things that I find funny as well as content and music that I create from time to time.

As for me, I'm a college student at UCSD and I'm a big believer in blockchain technology. I actually founded a start-up that focuses on blockchain and machine learning; I hope to write about my experiences running a start-up in the near future. 

I've been lurking on Steemit for a few months now and I was hesitant to join because I noticed that most of the posts (at least on trending) were related to cryptocurrency and STEEM itself. Despite my love for blockchain and staying up to date with crypto, that's not what I primarily want to read about on a social network. However, in the past few weeks I've been seeing a lot more diversity on the trending page and I felt a lot more comfortable unloading less technical posts onto Steemit. This was a very good sign not just for me but also for the community in general.

In my opinion, it's very important that Steemit begins to function like an average social media for it to reach critical mass. I am a big believer in blockchain and crypto, but I think that a social media should be just that 'social'. Yes, we should post about crypto news but we should also be just as willing to post a picture of our meal or a funny image we saw last week!

When the reason to join Steemit changes from "look at how much money you can make" to "you can stay up-to-date with your friends on here", we will see a huge migration onto this platform.  

But what do I know, this is just my first post. I'd love to hear what you think!

Side note, I thought we would be able to change our @ after we received our confirmation email but I guess I'm stuck with the @traplord for now lool.  

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!

I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Glad you made it on the platform!

Very cool and welcome to steem! I've been on for a couple of months and also think that blockchain, AI and cryptocurrencies are changing the world in ways most of the population hasn't begun to think about. Great to have a person of your caliber to follow and learn from. thx

Welcome. You will do very well especially if you bring your followers with you!

welcome to steemit

Welcome on Steemit @traplord.
I can say confidently that when you surf through Steemit, you will discover that it's all you ever imagined in a social media platform.
Give, grow, and gain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43