Hello from Detroit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemers!

I'm new to the community, and I wanted to introduce myself.

My name is Kat and I am a blockchain newbie :) I feel like you should know this about me up front. 

I was first introduced to Steem by my fiance, Alex Linebrink. Over the past several months, he's been working on a blockchain-based event ticketing platform called PassageX which aims to eliminate fraud and increase transparency in an industry where both fans and artists are really getting screwed. 

That's me and Alex! We're on a boat!

I wanted to know more about his work, so I figured I’d better learn how this blockchain stuff works :) As I dug into it more, I was blown away by the power of its technology and by the developers who are harnessing its capabilities for good.

I find that there are a lot of potential intersections with my work at Dandelion, where I am the content and marketing lead. Dandelion deploys large-scale impact projects that help nonprofits, governments, and citizens improve their communities.

In my spare time, I am a Netflix binger, part-time taco junky, dance party enthusiast, and undercover Disney princess.

I am interested in how blockchain can be used to increase access to mainstream financial services for unbanked populations around the globe, and how it can increase efficiency and transparency in the responsible delivery of good and services, including how governments interact with their citizens. 

I still have so much to learn. 

Next week I am headed to Steemfest, along with a few other members of the PassageX team. I’m excited to meet some of the leaders, experts and early adopters of blockchain and Steem (and maybe even as few novices like me).

As I mentioned, I'm new to this platform, so I am eager to hear your advice on how to get the most out of the Steemit experience and how to support the community.

If you've made it this far, please say hello in the comments :) I would love to know you better. 

Cheers,

Kat

I like making new friends, even feathered ones!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :D

A new Steemian ^^ hello @transientheart I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hi @tradewonk :) Thanks for the welcome! Looking forward to following you and reading your stuff on Steemit :)

Enjoy steemfest follow back for karma

Yay! Welcome to the world of STEEM!

(I think most of the community calls themselves "Steemians", but "Steemers" is cool too.) Nice pictures too :)

@alexlinebrink thank you! And that's good to know to proper community name :) Appreciate it!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @transientheart to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Welcome to Steemit, Kat. Glad to see another Blockchain enthusiastic. You will do just fine here. :) Good to know that you are attending SteemFest as well. Have fun Steeming.

Thank you @firepower! :) I will - Steemfest has been great so far. Looking forward to reading your stuff here on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43