Struck by Lightning: Here I am Steemit

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)


Hello Steemit! My name is Tarek and I’m builder of things. Whether it is code or awesome structures. Creativity tends to be my strong suit. I've been part of this community for 2 weeks now and I've discovered I thoroughly enjoy writing. I've always had many thoughts but have few places to express them. I have found that the Steemit community offers constructive feedback, which before I had only found from close friends. I am from Ojai, California and I have lived in places like Hawaii and Big Sur. I have discovered that I like to know a few people very well rather than a lot of people barely at all.

When I lived in Big Sur I was at the Esalen Institute, which was founded in 1962 with the intention of exploring the human potential movement. Instead of becoming a new aged woo-woo, my time there has made me value critical thinking regarding spirituality and health. It exposed me to many different fields that are not typically taught in college academia. One of my favorite aspects of Esalen was the fact that we participated in weekly sessions of Gestalt therapy with our work groups. It was the best way for me to build emotional intelligence and to gain a better sense of who I am in relation to others. I managed the farm at Esalen and I thoroughly enjoyed working with the land, growing the food I ate, and teaching others about farming. It was an amazing time in my life. I spent my days soaking in Hot Springs on a cliffside above the ocean and meeting like-minded individuals from all around the world.

I would also consider myself a Burner. For those of you who do not know what a Burner is, it is someone who participates in the annual event called Burning Man. Burning Man is a pilgrimage to Black Rock City where for one week amazing people gather in the desert and enjoy beautiful art that is infused into the landscape and individuals alike. The last two times I went to Burning Man I actually went for 17 days because to build camp Trifucta for our 200 members. Last time I went, my friend Brian and I had to drive this awesome vehicle from Joshua Tree all the way up to Gerlach Nevada. I've been drawn to Burning Man’s philosophies such as leaving no trace, radical inclusion, participation, and gifting society. We attempt to purge ourselves from corporate sponsorship and for a brief time we can enjoy sybaritic freedom.






When your about to get struck by lightning.

When I'm not building physical things, I enjoy working with code. I have worked on a few Bitcoin projects which I don't care to mention because they quickly died out. I'm happy to say I'm in the midst of really a project that I believe will be a great deal of fun. I mostly focus on front-end code but I practice all code daily to work toward becoming a full-stack developer. I have a long way to go but I'm dedicated and persistent.


I've recently become a father to a beautiful daughter named iLy and I am in a wonderful relationship with someone I truly love. Everyday life seems better than I could have dreamed it. I've always liked the idea that I'm in control of my happiness regardless of the situation. I'm also a firm believer in that the older one gets, the better life gets. With the understanding of ourselves, we can overcome any obstacle and find peace with even the greatest wrongdoings. I love to read even though I'm dyslexic... I guess that's where my persistence comes from. Luckily there are a lot of audiobooks these days. I thoroughly enjoy thought-provoking fiction and nonfiction.

Thank you for the warm welcome Steem and I'm happy to be part of this experiment. Here is Part 2 of our farm video. I couldn't find Part 1.

Sort:  

Wow what a handsome dad :) Sounds like you have quite the life...Wish I was your girl! ;)

Stop your messing around, you are my girl :D

I up voted @tralawar You definitely need more up votes from the STEEMIT community.... come on STEEM IT people, let's up vote some more.
@streetstyle

Thank you, that is a really nice comment! I try to write the best content I can.

I never had a bad time at )'(

Another burners I see )'(

That is crazy that your hair is sticking up from static!

Welcome to steemit . Nice images and story.

Thank you very much.

going to burning man is like a dream of mine..sure to never come true though. You rule!

Never say never? Why don't you think you would be able to go?

not an american, expensive...but who knows yeah :)

It can be pretty expensive. I usually can get by spending $1,000 USD including a ticket for $380. There are plenty of ways to getting there cheaper once you take care of the plane ticket. Low-income tickets, working for an art project or volunteering in a major camp. I have met many people out there that have found an interesting way of getting there for free. There are pretty of facebook groups to start making those connections. Maybe it is time to start a #burningman in Steemit!

that's super cool. I did not know that. i'll keep that in mind and i'll reach out if the possibility looms in the future :) i hope i'll still find you around. I follow you now so, i'm sure we'll meet again in the comments :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@razvanelulmarin/is-steemit-a-lottery a post that could help with your mindset

and one that might help with you posting

https://steemit.com/steemit/@razvanelulmarin/help-me-upvote-you

I hope you get smth out of these and if you have any questions, reach out. I'm on steemit.chat too :)

I'll check those out once I am done writing this next post.

I love the burn philosophy as well! So bummed I'm not going this year. Sharing and inclusion always trumps visions of scarcity.

I have had to take a little break myself with the baby and all. Playa dust wouldn't be good for her.

Great videos!

Great videos!

Another great read :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46