Introducing TouchingLives

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Being a black man proudly leading a black life in a black nation has never been easy. Life was quite hard with no job, basic life amenities, survival provisions, civil wars and corruption cases. I guessed there are greener pastures at the other end of the color spectrum.

Reflecting on the sociocultural, political and economic challenges of these black nations put me in awe as I have come to appreciate having struggled to get my feet into the supposed promise land – America.

As an undergraduate in Texas A&M, my days so far have been filled with realities. The reality of no promised land followed by the sinking feelings of failure, loss of hope and depression and suicidal thoughts. The same feelings that fueled my nostalgia to move to America.  The epiphany of “The struggle is real, everywhere no matter the color of the spectrum” dawned upon me. However, this time, there is nowhere to run. I have braced up to survive the hails and sail through the storms. I have realized I’ve got to stand up to the struggle and make things happen. I have to get stuff done and move the mountains because yes I can.


I have come to understand that sometimes in life, you look deeper into your struggles, the successes, trials, perseverance, and the failures. Each of these moments, you've spent at the crossroad, you were like I'd rather make it or fake it till I make it. Boosting your ego at each mark to raise your survival instincts count. Then finally the hammer comes, the shit just got real, you failed. But, no one really told you it would be easy, no one will support you but you. So, Buckle up. It's time to move on. You only failed. It's part of the sweeter stories you will recount someday. Someday when also, the success shit just got real.

- Mayowa,  College Station, Texas.

TouchingLives brings you the behind the scene success and failure stories of the Steemit community. @TouchingLives, we believe life changes when we make it okay to fail and try again. We believe life becomes better when we take lessons from the inspiration of others. We believe life gets at its best when we share our deepest stories.

TouchingLives ... right now for a better world.

Sort:  

WELL SAID ,JUST REMEMBER AMERICA IS A LAND OF HOPE AND A LAND THAT WILL KILL YOUR SPIRT AT THE SAME TIME ,IT IS EVERYTHING GREAT AND ALL THE WORST HUMANITY HAS TO OFFER AT THE SAME TIME. YOUR INTENT WILL SET YOUR COURSE IN LIFE HERE IN AMERICA ,SO REMEMBER TO TRANSFER ALL THE NEGATIVE ENERGY THAT COMES YOUR WAY INTO PRODUCTIVE ENERGY AND NOT BECOME BITTER LIKE THOSE WHO WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOU FAIL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46