The Scam that is FACEBOOK!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I have worked hard over the years to build my brand and grow my audience across YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. While I am not massive, at a collective figure of 52,000, I am pretty pleased!

On Facebook alone I have 21,618; these are people that have subscribed to my page and want to see the new content I post.

fb_21k.png

I would like to now start promoting my Steemit page to these followers who have agreed to view my posts with the hope of bringing them over the Steemit community. But, and here is the BIG BUT; when I make a post to Facebook they will only show it to around 5% of my followers!! The next notification I always get from Facebook is asking me to pay them to access more of my followers!!!

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 11.32.14.png

..... and we're not talking small amounts of money here - to access up to 2800 subscribers (so around 15%) the daily cost would be £59 GBP !!! Do they think us content creators are made of money ?!

Screen Shot 2017-06-26 at 11.34.27.png

So, my question to my fellow Steemians - does anyone have a strategy to help reach Facebook followers and raise the Steemit profile ?!

Big hugs
Sacha

Sort:  

bit of a shame that they are wanting to make money by deliberately reducing your fan bandwidth.

It's a bonkers situation! But they obvs just see creators as cash cows!!

Facebook Pages are overrated. I'm at 22,000 now and I'm lucky if 5% of them see my posts now. It's very sad.

I feel your pain buddy and you're right, they are overrated -all the hard work building my page is pretty worthless now :-(

So true. I like Instagram much better anyways, but they are becoming worse as well.

Wow, that sucks! Sooner or later I can see the sites like Facebook or Twitter start protecting themselves from steemit since it will take away their audience. It would be great if you find the way to bring your followers here, that's quite a big number! Great job Sacha!

I think you're right, they could seriously come unstuck in the future. But for now, I don't want to put any more effort into Facebook!

Hi Sacha,

This is a great question/issue.... I have the same problem with promoting posts to Facebook...every time they want money from me for reaching the full capacity of people .... still don't know a way HOW TO reach all the people .... Following this post :) Thanks a lot for sharing this interesting question :)

I can't see a way around it, other than continued posting and hoping to one day rest everyone!! Followed you and looking forward to your posts :-)

Facebook became an issue for me too. I worked for years to build up the audience on my FB author page. Around 2012 Facebook change their algorithms and my post outreach dropped dramatically. This use to bother me tremendously but, after a year on Steemit, I don't care about Facebook much anymore. My strategy has been to "boost" FB the occasional post asking my audience to sign up for my email mailing list. This way you can connect with your audience directly via email. It's worked quite well.

I like your thinking here! Maybe in a few months, I will start to forget about FB and focus solely on Steemit. But at the moment I can't quite bring myself to walk away from years of work on FB :-( Congrats on the book launch BTW, you must be thrilled !!

I was sad to leave my audience on Facebook. I kind of feel like we grew up together. Lol. I still do the occasional targeted "boost" but that's the only way they allow my audience to see it. Thank you! I am thrilled beyond belief. It started off slow the first day but it's selling very well now! I have a second novel to finish this summer and then I'll be taking about a month's break to just travel, take photos, and write posts.

this is soo true!!! unbelievable!! btw dont use introduce yourself tag anymore , as its not relevant :P :)))

Their business model is just awful! Noted on the other point xx

Welcome to Steemit @totallysacha!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

You got this post spot on. It is quite annoying that someone will create quality contents and share to his/her followers, only for the posts to be restricted.

Like you rightly mentioned, "Do they think us content creators are made of money ?!"

No strategy worked for me so I decided to stop bothering myself about it. I just publish my contents on Facebook regardless of if my followers are allowed to view or not to view.

This is why Steemit Rocks!!!

Glad it's not just me then! I think I need to do the same as you and just stop caring about it !!! Hopefully Steemit will be the future for us all :-)

Steemit is simply the future!

just bombard Facebook by continually sharing your Steemit posts to FB. Also, you can comment away and share your steemit posts on FB. You just have to work it back.

That's my plan to start, can't see any other way around it!

Hi Sacha... I don´t understand why they FB ask so much money for a day´s advertisement.. Perhaps that has something to do with the location or the country where you are in... I help a friend who does pencil/charcoal portraits put up ads on FB.. my location is in Europe where I üpalced his Ads and the target people are in the Philippines... I usually pay 7 USD for a seven-day Ad and the first ad had more than 20K people reached who viewed his FB page resulting to more orders... so your bill is just too much!

No idea why yours is far less then mine!! Just makes the whole FB platform even more unfair !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31