Introduction: From a dancer travelling the world to a content creator documenting life

mt maroon.jpg

Hey Steemians. My name is TJ; Born and raised in a small town in New Zealand. At the age of 14, my family and I packed up everything we had, headed abroad & made the move across the Tasman Sea to Brisbane, Australia.


Growing up, I always had a somewhat artistic outlook on life. When I was in high school, myself along with some mates put together a dance team (hip hop). It started out as something fun, a hobby to keep us occupied after school and it quickly turned into a massive part of our lives!

Our small crew of 5, expanded to 25 within the first few months and grew to 50 soon after. I was only 16 at the time, so taking on a huge team of 50 kids, younger than me was a massive responsibility. We rehearsed on the school field before and after school, rain hail or shine. We had so much passion burning inside of us, so much goals and ambitions. Which led me to implement life long traits at such a young age!





I worked a factory job from 7am – 3:30pm & taught hip hop classes all around Queensland from 4pm to midnight, while also looking after a studio of 3 crews (60+ people) day in and day out for 5 years. Yes, I operated on almost no sleep. But, I never once complained about it. Because I loved it & still to this day I don’t regret a living minute of it


At the end of 2016/beginning of 2017 I decided that it was time to branch out and start a new journey. To make this transition and I guess, grasp the thought of new beginnings, I embarked on a spontaneous trip to Bali with a bunch of close friends.



During our time there, I shot videos every single day on my iPhone, not thinking about what was soon to follow. After having one of the best trips of my life, we returned home and over the coming weeks I put together a short video, using the footage I had on my iPhone and uploaded it to Facebook. The traction it gained, was overwhelming!

fb.jpg

I quickly came to the realisation that I LOVED creating! I had a genuine passion for bringing things to life. Whether it be a dance routine, a video, art, I felt & still feel that I am meant for creating. Throughout this year I began creating videos of all sorts. Fashion, Personal Training, Weddings, Travel etc. I had introduced myself to this new world. The world of Content Creation.

venice.JPG
gucci.jpg

Taking a video or a photo is one thing. But turning it into a feeling and a story, that’s where the magic happens. That’s what I love creating.

I made a goal with a very close friend of mine on SEP 1 2016, and told her that I would quit my 9-5 job a year from then. So come SEP 1 2017

IMG_4885.JPG
goals.jpg
SMASH.jpg

YUP, IT HAPPENED. I STUCK WITH MY GOAL AND QUIT MY 9-5

The very same friend that I had made this goal with (Jaylene, also in the picture with me above) introduced me to cryptocurrency. Like any first timer, I was oblivious.

However, I am a very OPEN TO LEARNING/LISTENING type of guy.

I went home to do my own research on this “cryptocurrency” thing. I put my head into the laptop and spent hours researching/watching/listening/learning about everything “cryptocurrency”

completely.jpg
BOG.jpg
tenor.gif

& it was then, I came across STEEMIT

To be completely honest, I only heard about Steemit last week. I found out about it through Tai Lopez’s online course about Cryptocurrency, where Brock Pierce mentioned & expressed his thoughts about Steemit. Again, I did some deep researching and thought “If I can give 100% in every other part of my life, then I think It’s time that I owe the same amount of effort to myself” I have taken the Instagram route, the YouTube route, Snapchat, Facebook, Twitter, etc.

"You only get out what you put in"

I never truly invested myself into these platforms. I would post a video here, write a post there, post a photo or video there. I was sort of half doing everything. My friends and family would often look forward to my updates and I slowly drifted away from sharing anything.

stee.jpg

I saw the potential for story telling. For content sharing. For communities to interact. To grow together. I saw everything that I loved. Signed up yesterday, got approved today. Started typing away putting content together for my first post and...

bam.jpg
HERE.jpg

You're probably wondering how I managed to wrap my head around this so quickly?
Well, I use to have a blog when I was younger. So I somewhat, have an understanding of html. And I guess google can be your best friend when you're not lazy and you actually teach yourself some knowledge here & there 😛

PURP.jpg

My purpose with story telling and content creating, is to share my world. To let people in. Every single person on this earth has their own story. And that is what I am here to do, to tell mine. I don’t believe I am right; I don’t believe I am wrong. But, I do believe in myself. And you should too.

IMG_3826.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tjtauroa to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow - well done on your journey and successes!!! And best of luck (although doesn't seem you'll need it) on your venture here on Steemit! Kate

Hello and welcome to steemit! Hope you have great time here! :)

Thank You! Looking forward to utilising Steemit as much as I can :)

Welcome to the wonderful world we call Steemit!
What an amazing first post! Blew me away and I am going to follow you because I want to have that peek into your life!

Connecting is the first thing you should keep in mind here and a wonderful way to that for new members is joinging the MSP / Pal group on Discord chat. I will leave you the link here: https://discord.gg/ghA3vu8

Discord is one one of the places where you can find many Steemit related groups! Have a look in there. MSP ( minnow support project ) can really be a great start for you here on the platform!

Have a marvelous day and I am looking forward to reading more of your work!

Best wishes
Snekky

Thank You! I really appreciate it!

Looking forward to creating content and sharing it when the Steemit community.

Have a great day and once again, thank you for the kind words and advice :)

You are most welcome!
Staring on a new platform can be a real challange if you have to find out everything on your own! Getting help with the first things can be a big difference!
Feel free to contact me here, or on Discord if you ever need a helping hand!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49