Hello, Steemit! Hello, World!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

When I first became truly introspective (probably about the age of 13), I decided that I was primarily a writer. Now I have let that Aspect ruminate in the shadows for an Eon. But with the discovery of Steemit and a confluences of different of trends, activities and interests, I have decided once again to pick up the Quill.

While I have not yet been published, or at least not professionally published, my writing experience has gone through and ebb and flow. I first started writing in earnest in high school, mostly essays and poems. Typical, right? I then decided to extend this interest to college as a journalist. I figured this would allow me to continue to write while learning about the world about me and having (hopefully) a regular paycheck. One professor who wrote for the Village Voice dissuaded me of this career; she said it was a very lonely profession. Screw that! I was already a lonely individual. Last thing I needed was a career that reinforced my tendency to roll on my own.

Now, while in high school, I discovered that I had a gift for tongues. I chose to study French, because I decided it was a more challenging language then Spanish or Italian. I guess you could say I was a linguistic snob in Queens, NY. So, in college when I abandoned journalism I ultimately ended up with language. I did a double major in French and Spanish through the CUNY Baccalaureate Program. Then at the CUNY Graduate Center I got a Master's degree in translation from French to English and Spanish to English. A classmate helped me to land a job as a translator with Chase Manhattan Bank (now JPMorganChase). So I was able to continue my interest as a writer after a fashion.

As a professional translator, I returned to writing on the side. And this time I focused on short stories. I took a class at the Writers Studio. It was a good experience. I liked my product and learned a lot. My instructor/coach recognized my talent. However, when I decided to continue on to the next level, I was told that each student had to take each class twice! My BS meter hit the red zone. I gave them a big mental middle finger and hit the road.

A few years later I discovered the Write Group in Montclair, NJ. I allowed the organizer of the novel group to convince me that one short story I was working on had potential to become a novel. Unfortunately proto-SJW's found the world my novel took place in offensive. And I hit writer's block. So I ended up leaving the Write Group and the novel, discouraged.

I then wrote a short story that I ultimately submitted to the Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine. I am proud to say that I got my first rejection: just one more "No" that's closer to "Yes", neh? I think I will I start my writing trade here on Steemit with that short story.

To be continued . . .

Sort:  

Hi tjsherlock . welcome to steemit family :)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Hi Tjsherlock,

welcome to the Steemit family! You wanna learn German as well? Happy to have you here!

Greetings from Berlin!

Ja, it's on my list. :)
I'll post about language and languages in the near future.

Welcome to Steemit @tjsherlock. Looking forward to your future contributions. I run the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. We are a group that helps provide support and guidance to new users on Steemit. We also help necomers gain more exposure for their posts. If you have any questions or need any help then don't hesitate to ask. Also be sure to keep your account keys safe to prevent your account from being hacked. You can find our initiative at #newbieresteemday. Best of luck here on Steemit.

Congratulations @tjsherlock, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @tjsherlock! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tjsherlock! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53