An Introduction, And Some Ideas On Not Sweating The Small Stuff

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

My name is Vivian, and I'm 20. And lucky to be 20. I'm sure this is just because of my perspective but I feel that I've lived many lives in just two decades and in layman' terms, "Seen some shit". I've reached a state of gratefulness for everything, all the things I've experienced and seen, even the really bad ones. I've come to understand that everything leads to something else and you'll hit good stuff and bad stuff as you go.

I grew up in Southern Ohio, with moderately poor parents (we could afford rent sometimes, but sometimes we'd have no electricity) and well-off grandparents. Those grandparents saved my ass on more than one occasion. Looking back, some of things would be easy to see as "unfair " or "problematic ". Like the time my parents told me we were on vacation but we were actually sleeping in a tent in the back of one of my grandparents properties to avoid paying rent anywhere. Or the time I found out my dad wasn't my dad, and that my real one was too drunk to care I existed. There's plenty of other things but they're not thins you share with strangers. These things bothered me very badly for a long time, and created a lot of issues with how I saw myself. I got worse and worse and darker and more sad until I got tired. I was tired of feeling like a waste, and tired of feeling unloved when I knew both of those things were untrue.

Anything can seem really big if you let it, but if you tell the big things that they are small and they will not become consuming, you'll start to believe it. It'll become easy to not sweat the small stuff.

I strategically took my profile picture so that you could see the giant ink stain on my bed. Just minutes before while I was painting out the sign, one of my four dogs knocked a bottle of India ink over onto me and my bed and my clothes (god bless my all black wardrobe). It would be easy to be upset at him for ruining my mattress and staining my hands right before work,. Instead I chose to clean up the ink flood and laugh about his clumsiness. It's entirely too easy to let every small annoyance turn into a bigger and bigger one. The ultimate goal in this life is to take care of other people, and then yourself and you can't do that if you're worried about an ink stain or even about where your alcoholic biological father could be hiding. You have to let yourself move forward and focus on what is important.

"And now here is my secret, a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye."
-"The Little Prince", Antoine de Saint-Exupèry

The Dog In Question, Jet Matthew
(Pictured below , His Merry Band of Miscreants , -1)

The -1, Jade

(P.S. I sure hope the Steemit Community likes dogs, cuz I'll be posting a lot of them)

Sort:  

Hello @throattothestars,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you! Super honored!

Welcome and congratulation on being the top pick :)

Thank you! I'm very excited about top pick :)

Welcome, glad to have you on steemit. There is a learning curve but you will do great!

Great introduction. Honesty and integrity is highly valued on this platform and as such it is pretty clear that you will doe well on this platform. You are very welcome on Steemit!

Thank you so much! I try not to add any unnecessary fluff it reads better that way. I feel welcomed :)

Welcome to Steemit! Its all about positive thinking :)

Thanks! It's the best way to be

Welcome to Steemit! Working with @codydeeds to see if we can get you "up and running". ;D

Hey thanks! Those dogs are lovely, such great smiles!!

You bet! 5 SD just sent to @codydeeds to get the project Done. Peace.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.82 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 28 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94