Hi! This is me

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I'm not usually one to get in front of a camera, so here's me, staying behind one.

00051TT38.jpg

As I'm sure I've made this abundantly clear, I'm a photographer. Living in the small coastal town of Gisborne, New Zealand.

This is my home town, which I was away from for about 5 years, studying photography in Wellington and hanging in Melbourne for a bit. Though after coming back to my home town about 3 years ago now. I found a distinct lack of photography in the community.

I was bummed, my photography slowed down and I wasn't creating anymore. It took about a year to get back into it, I started by selling all my camera gear and buying something smaller and simpler and only one lens to take away the options.

Once I had my camera I got to shooting, starting off with a 365 photo a day project, which was inevitably was rather tough, but has shaped my style into what it is now. This project lead to an exhibition, a book and a couple of interviews.

Halfway though my 365 project, I reignited my love for film photography. Which has led me to shooting about 90% film today. This has also started a business idea to create a film developing and scanning lab here in Gisborne, which there is no other. I have yet to launch this venture, though working on it in my spare time. I hope to help create a community for photographers to shoot and exhibit together.

Aside from my photography I am a barista at a small cafe called Flagship, which is a short walk from home. My partner and I bought a house at the beginning of last year, which we've been slowly fixing up.

A friend messaged me with "get to it tom" confused as I as, we later established meant get onto Steemit. After a bit of conversing about what "Steemit" was, here I am. Getting paid to create good content sounded too goo to be true, I tried to find the catch, but couldn't find one. So with my interest peaked, I'm here, telling everyone my story. Hoping I can share my work and the projects I'll be embarking on.

Check out these links to:

Instagram
https://www.instagram.com/thomasteutenberg/

365 Day Project Interview
https://www.thebigidea.nz/stories/thomas-teutenberg-365-days#.WhYuIuafZl8.facebook

Plus a few more photos

00051TT12.jpg

00051TT15.jpg

00051TT26.jpg

Excited to share more soon!

Sort:  

Yeah I could tell just by the opening pic you liked photography =)) I want to take more pictures myself also, very liberating. I'm new here as well, loving it to be honest. Quite the innovative platform. Hope your grasp everything easily mate, best wishes!

Thanks for your support! Hope to see some of your photography up here too. Loving steemit so far, looking forward to seeing where it goes from here!

Welcome to Steemit! I'm quite new here too, but yeah, it's a fantastic platform! Best of luck to your adventures on it, and keep posting rad photography!

Thanks Andy! Like the look of your blog, I'll be keeping an eye on it. there will be plenty more photography to come.

Glad to see you back at it! :)

Great post, you're very welcome here at Steemit :)

Congratulations @thomasteutenberg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45