Introducing The StoryTeller

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

DGSHeadshotf990f.jpg

It's like that first spark of sunshine on the eastern horizon.

Everything else is dark, quiet, barely a wisp of air. Suddenly like spear in the air rays of light begin gleaming and a new day is dawning. That is how I feel about this first experience in Steemit. I am 65 years old. Born in the Howdy Doody, Roy Rogers, Sky King days of the 1950's. High was my father's ham radio and his trusty slide rule. And today the paths seem endless. I have spent a lot of my life dreaming of a time when the ideas in my head could find a place to reveal themselves and enter the hearts and minds of others.

It is my hope to take the wonderful life mosaic that I have woven in the many careers, experiences and times into stories that might entertain and be enjoyed by others. Our history was being told by story tellers long before the printed word. Our memories, sometimes so bright, are quick to fade. And when our time on earth is over, they are gone in a blink. I hope to be able to express as many different ones as I can and hope to exchange thoughts and ideas with as many different kinds of people as possible.

Topics I am most interested in right now include:

  1. Arriving at a crossroads when retirement from the 8 to 5 job comes to an end. Spending time in an RV exploring the country, seeing family and friends whenever we want. Going from total neophyte to RV Full Timer should be fun.
  2. Having worked my entire life, how does one re-define themselves in a way is new and exciting. How does one live when everything is not wrapped around the time clock and paycheck.
  3. Stories I've told and ones in my head that might have a place to play themselves out. Poems, puppet scripts, radio commercials, movie ideas and who knows what else will spring upon these pages.

Most of all I hope to learn how to properly format, add pictures and links in a way that will be interesting to the
passers by. It is the first step in the adventure. Care to come along?

Sort:  

I'm waiting for your next post.

Thanks very much for being the first to reply. I've been doing computers since DOS 2.0! But it is going to take me a bit to get comfortable with how to put these posts together in a way that will be fun to read and have great things to see. But stay with me....there are a whole lotta stories out there!

Looking forward to hearing your stories.

Thanks very much for being my second reply. It should be great fun here. My goal will be to never bore anyone. Hopefully there will be stories from childhood, and growing up, and growing old, that might touch a heart string or two. And most of all it is a great thing to know there is a world of new people to get to know and what better place than here, on Steemit.

Well, I look forward to hearing them, I love a good story. I'm new myself and so far i love it. Curious, what do you record, or is that for a cb?

Trying to get a handle on the best way to put together items. So many ideas, so many directions, that it may take awhile to hone my skills. Didn't understand what you asked about what I record. Maybe you could explain.

It certainly looks like you have a great, optimistic outlook on life, which should take you far!
Good Luck in your retirement, I hope you don't become too busy to share your stories here.

My biggest challenge is learning this system well enough to make posts that are both interesting to read and visually fun too. For now I think I am going to do it first in something like Word and then blast it over. Seems to make adding links a little easier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71