22 And Travelling The World | 3 things I did that changed my life in 1 Year

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

62B88CD8-B753-4308-8052-F9D30B3C9A34.JPG

Hello Steemians! I’m Vandana Yadav, a Travel and Lifestyle Influencer from New Delhi, India. Exactly one year ago, relaxing in the beach town of India — Goa, I wondered to myself — “If I love traveling so much, why not write about it and share it with the world?” I knew it was going to be anything, but easy.

Especially when you are a 22-year-old female in the middle of your MBA, living in a country like India, where females are still considered inferior to men.

61DE3ED4-E636-4C5D-82F5-414E36B1F929.JPG

I love the excitement of it all–feeling like an explorer–discovering a new land, a new language, new money and all the little challenges that go along with it. It just makes me feel more positive towards life. After all, we have one life, why don’t we live it the way we want?

2017 was the year that changed my life and my way of thinking completely.
When I started sharing about my travel experiences on Instagram, I had some 1000 followers on Instagram and in just a year, I got an online family of over 34k. I traveled to one of the most one of the beautiful countries in the world — Indonesia for more than a month. I had the opportunity to stay at some of the most beautiful accommodations. All while I had some $500 in my bank account. You must be thinking how?
Looking back, here are the 3 things that gave my life the U-turn it needed!

3 things that completely changed my life in a year!

1. Setting Goals

Setting goals is the first step in turning invisible into the visible. You have to have a purpose to do something. I see myself as a successful social media influencer in 5 years. That’s my major goal or the long-term goal. And to do that, I set some short-term goals. One of them was International Travel. I knew I had to travel outside India, to get out of my comfort zone, learn a new culture, meet new people, all while I create content for my Instagram and blog. I had no money or plan at that time. The only thing I had was a goal and faith in myself. And I achieved it!
Goals are important. They give you the fire, the hope and the purpose to do something.
Just find out where you are now and where you want to be in 10 years, 3 years or 1 year. Keep asking yourself what do you want? and why do you want it?
And you will get the answers out.

68F5BF71-7598-4030-A311-09CE6B98AC12.JPG

2. Putting in the work

The best way to achieve all your goals is to JUST DO IT. Just start somewhere. Starting is the hardest part but let me tell you that it is the ONLY HACK. Sorry folks, there’s no shortcut or way around this.
I wrote down my goals and started working on them from the very first day because you don’t need a special day to start. Read your goals every day. Eat them. They should be on your mind always. Either consciously or subconsciously. And work on them every day. Write down your progress and work harder. Imagine yourself achieving those goals. And I bet you will do it!
Just START and have faith in yourself!

IMG_3170.JPG

3. If you can think it, you’ll do it

This is very very important. If you can imagine yourself traveling the world in your 20s, if you have that faith and confidence, you can do it. Trust me. It’s a big thing.
Whether you believe you can do a thing or not, you are right.
If you think you can do it, you can. If you think you can’t do it, you can’t. I knew it that I will achieve those goals I set for 2017, I did. To succeed, we must first believe that we can. Your belief shape your actions and your actions shape your result, but first, you have to believe.
Positivity is the key!

DC261131-7AF6-4A12-A0A7-4F21010F0614.JPG

So that’s it, Steemians! I hope you enjoyed my story! Remember I said I had about $500 in my bank account while I traveled and stayed at some of the most beautiful (and expensive) places? Yes! I’ll write about it in detail in my upcoming posts, along with how I organically grew my Instagram from 0 to over 30k in less than a year! :)

Follow me to stay updated. And upvote to show your love and support! Thank you for reading. Love to all! :)

Sort:  

This is an awesome platform pretty, I hope you enjoy your stay here and more power to you. =)
How many countries have you visited?

Hi :)
Thank you so much! Checked out your blog and loved it. Especially the post about "little India". Great work.
I have been to three countries as of now! Have you been to India? :)

Hi Vandana, Welcome to SteemIt. I am Krishna, a trip leader based in Mumbai.
"where females are still considered inferior to men" - It may be true partially. For most situations women have equal opportunity in India.

Hi Krishna!
I agree. It's getting better now! :)
Btw, your profile looks amazing! Those lake pictures are just wow!

I am sure that you will like this FB group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/430411867148841/

spent a few years traveling all over India​ and I totally love how you captured some amazing photography and you write even better! whats your Instagram​ account, I wanna check it out!

prince of india oodia baba destined to become instagram royalty.jpg

I'm glad to know that! Thank you so much!
Here's my Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/theglowingedge
What's your handle? :)

Hi Vandana.
After reading your blog all I wanted to say
You are Beautiful
ur profile name, it's Catchy
Ur hard work, being an Indian girl u must had faced GREAT Problems in the beginning, but ur dedication must had helped you to achieve ur Goal.
I wish you luck 👍.
Regards @cafter

Hi Neha,
Thank you so much! Just checked out yours and I loved it so much! Great work.
We should definitely connect somewhere else. Maybe Instagram? Mine is @theglowingedge :)

Great blog! Im new to Steemit also. Cheers from Mexico! FOLLOWING

Thank you! Welcome to Steemit! Followed you back :)

Hey Vandana! It's great to have you on board on Steemit! I'm happy to see more travel bloggers from India come over to this platform. I'd love to know how you found out about Steemit and what made you start here.

I'm hosting my 4th India Steem meetup in Delhi within a couple of weeks from now. It would be great to see you there.

I run Steemit.Chat-official chat for Steemit and we have an active Indian community here: https://steemit.chat/channel/india. You can use the same username as on Steemit.

Feel free to reach out if you need any assistance and be sure to follow my guide to create your private keys to secure your account against any theft here.

Hello, thanks for getting in touch!
I got to know about this really amazing platform via a friend! And I really loved the way it works.
Steem meetup? Oh yes, I saw your post about it in the "Trending" section :P
It's amazing! I'd love to catch up. Please forward the details in the chat group!
And thanks again! :)

HELLO VANDANA! let me start of first by saying:

  1. I’ve always wanted to visit India, very diverse and beautiful country

  2. I completely understand your struggle as a very young lady building her career in such society and I hope and pray that you will really suceed.

  3. YOU’RE SO BEAUTIFUL AND TALENTED AND HAVE ACHIEVED A LOT FOR SUCH A YOUNG AGE! Great job! Very inspiring! Can’t wait to read up on your next post and see you influence more people.

Welcome to steemit, I’m 24 years old, from the medical field in Malaysia and write mostly about medical, historical and geographical facts. However, good for you I also write abot travel and nature especially interesting places in Malaysia to visit and you can totally check them out at my profile and if you ever feel like coming here, i’d be more than happy to entertain you around Malaysia.

Let me help with you your start by increasing the number of followers you have by following you. Heck, let me upvote you because you deserve it! There you go, much love from Malaysia!

Hi Wazir,
Thank you sooooo much for the kind words! This just made my day. I think this is the best start to Steemit, haha.
I checked out your blog, it's amazing. Do you write somewhere else too? I saw your post about the mossy forest. What a beautiful place!
I've been to Malaysia and I really enjoyed it. People are so nice and friendly. Though I was there for only 3 days. It was amazing. I will definitely ping you the next time.

Once again, thank you so much! :)
x

Aaaa you’ve been here? 3 days won’t do you justice in Malaysia so definitely ping me if you’re coming, there’s much to see and to do and to eat. The food here, i’m telling you is everything! Haha oh yes, the mossy forest should definitely be in you list of place to visit, that and the sky mirror. I write in my instagram @ wazir_aiman, what’s your instagram? Would love to follow you.

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you enjoy your stay.

Thank you so much! :)
You have a great blog! Would love to get some tips from you :)

It looks great. I hope to read lots more from you. I have only traveled within Europe. However beautiful that may be, I hope to be able to discover other fantastic countries out there. Until that time I would like to read with you!

Thank you so much! Europe is beautiful. I'll keep you updated with the best ones, haha :)

i am looking forward to it!

Hello And Welcome To Steemit!

It is a platform like none other. You can get to know people from all over the world. If you continue to post great informative content you will grow a following in no time!

Start following some authors that post good content and upvote them as well. Follow Me! Make some friends and you will be well on your way to earning some nice curation rewards and growing your following.

Best Of Luck!
Spencer Coffman
Read My Latest Article: Top Methods To Get Out Of Debt

Hi Spencer,

Thank you so much for the information! It is really a great platform to make some really good friends!!
I'm totally enjoying it. :)

Already following you!! Thanks again for the tips :)

You're welcome! If you every have any questions be sure to let me know. :)
I'm following you so I'll comment on your posts once in a while.

See My Latest Post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48