Hello, sorry if I'm "social media awkward"

Excuse me if I come across as social media awkward... 

You should know that I’ve stayed away from Facebook like the plague since it first began, and that I have one post on Instagram only because I thought it was an app to edit photos with. After that, I never used it again. And Snapchat? Errrr, Snap who?

Twitter’s alright, I still don’t have an account, but I like to grab cryptocurrency “news” there… I guess I should get an account soon because I think I’m actually following people manually (I’m googling people’s twitter handles. Also, is it weird that I have them memorized?)   

So anyways, it’s pretty ironic that I’m here on Steemit this early. I didn’t think I’ll be a somewhat early adopter of any new social media anything. I just never got into the whole online socializing thing. I had more than a decade to acquaint myself, but well, I thought it was going to be a fad. And I preferred my socializing offline. Call me old-fashioned (Still in my 20s by the way).    

So how am I even here?

As for how I came to be here, well, I started learning about cryptocurrencies not too long ago, and naturally stumbled upon Steemit through my research. Of course, what piqued my interest the most was the fact that people actually got paid to post stuff. So yes, I’m here because I am a greedy little bastard. But, I like to think a greedy little bastard with a heart.

Other random stuff...

Maybe you should also know that I’m sarcastic, passive-aggressive, and suffer from stress-induced anxiety from time to time. I’m also a huge bundle of fun. 

I guess at this point I should insert the obligatory photo.

 

This is the view from the peak of Mt. Ijen, in Java, Indonesia. It was taken after a 2 hour plus hike up the mountain and another 1 hour climb down into the crater and back up again. Adventurous huh? Well, don’t let the photo fool you. That was the last remotely adventurous thing I’ve done in the past 12 months. Hopefully, I get to do something like that again soon. In the meantime, I kinda like my couch.

You should also know that I never really liked taking pictures of myself, and that I’m pretty shit at taking pictures in general. This photo is courtesy of a friend.

And finally...what's next?

Well, I hope that in the time ahead I’ll have more interesting posts up, share ideas, dream up cool social experiments, and get to meet some people along the way from every crevice of this crazy-ass world. 

I believe Mark Zuckerberg’s vision for Facebook was to help people see a more complete picture of the world. However, a recent spate of mind-fucking world events has exposed the echo chamber effect that haunt spaces like Facebook.    

Perhaps, Steemit could be the platform to help us break free from our filter bubbles. Ultimately, I think it boils down to us, and our individual choices to see things for what it is before passing judgement, to broaden our fixed definitions, and to accept that our point of view can be narrow. So Steemit could be our chance at redemption, a platform for democratized information - a truly global community.   

Only time will tell. I’d like to stick around to find out.    

PS. Follow me if you want to, or don’t follow me and miss out on my pretty twisted sense of humour. Either ways, I think you’re kinda cool for giving this thing a shot. Thanks for reading this far! Appreciate it ;)  

Sort:  

Goodlock in steemit.com

Welcome to family :)

Welcome 2 steemit

welcome to steemit! i like how you just slapped that photo in the middle of your post because you think it's how things work around here, that's hilarious!

anyway, just take some time to read up and learn more about the platform and i'm sure you'll feel at home in no time at all :)

Thanks:) haha yes I know that was random, I have absolutely no freaking clue what the hell I'm doing! Think I'll just poke around and feel my way around this thing , please excuse me if I commit a faux pas along the way.

Thank You for sharing! Welcome to "Steemit" I'm new Here and Glad to be a part of such a HUGE Platform. I also am not a fan of Facebook, twitter, etc

Thanks, I guess that's 2 things we have in common. Just read your intro and upvoted.

Welcome to Steem @theessentials I have sent you a tip

hey there :) Welcome to steemit! I can appreciate a twisted sense of humor ;)

Perfect. We can be Steemit friends :)

I really enjoyed your introduction! Welcome aboard and enjoy your time here. :)

Thanks, plan very much on enjoying the Steem train :)

Catchy post and wonderful view I love to see how much 'our world' changes from one country to another!
Welcome here ! Its exciting to be the early people,I for one like your sense of humour already!
Followed :)

Thanks, followed back :)

Awe thank you so much !!! Good luck and ill be watching out for you for more lightheartedness :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71