Oh hey Steemit, I didn’t see you there! My name is Drew, allow me to introduce myself.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

What's up, my name is Drew and this is my official #introduceyourself post. Let me take a moment to bring you up to speed on who I am.




I am a 29 year old (on the cusp of 30 🤷‍♂️) from Sydney, Australia. For the second half on my 20's I have studied full-time, starting in Conservation Biology due to my love of animals (see below for proof), before transferring to a Nutrition Science degree and completing my Honours degree at the end of 2016.


Why nutrition?


I had been toying with the idea of transitioning to a vegan (or as I prefer, “plant-based”) diet throughout the majority of my high school years. This was largely influenced by a lot of bands and artists that I admired and looked up to, whom embraced and advocated a more compassionate and conscious lifestyle. A few not-so-serious attempts were made, none of which lasted more than a week or two.

Then after a personal rough patch around 7 years ago I knew a lifestyle change was necessary and decided to go vegan overnight and haven’t looked back! Yeah, the first week was hard. Hell, the first month even. After that, it just started to become completely intuitive to me.



At some point the wires crossed and it just made total sense to me to move my direction and efforts to nutrition. Two years of studying biology served me well (and it still holds a dear place in my heart), but I couldn’t see myself making a career out of it. Nutrition at this point was all I thought about and consumed (HA!), it was just a no-brainer.

Fast-forward a couple more years and I have now graduated with an Honours degree (it still sounds crazy to write or say). NB My thesis was focused on the long-chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids in a cultivated species of native Australian green seaweed. Ask me more in the comments.


What about your free-time?


I do other things aside from food and nutrition, I swear. Most of my spare-time is spent;

  • Planning holidays in my head
  • Thinking how to adult better
  • Researching trends in tech, social media etc
  • Listening to hip hop and punk rock (and my new obsession: movie soundtracks)
  • Watching sci-fi and business-type shows and movies
  • Worrying whether my plants will die or not


Goals for 2018

  • Create consistent content (Some of you may resonate with the inner procrastinator in me, but this year I aim to silence that chatty beast. I have had a lot of time over the past year to plan, research, reflect and strategise about how to make a career for myself post-graduation; but this is the year to execute and bring my ideas to fruition)

  • Build a community (With an emerging platform like Steemit, this could be a great opportunity to build a following and community. I get the same excitement from Steem that I did back during the infancy of Myspace, Facebook and Instagram - I remember those days well)

  • Zero debt (Personal loans are no joke. I am about to enter my thirties, so taking charge and accountability for my finances and weekly budget is a huge priority. On that note, can someone validate my daily coffee splurge? Surely a healthy dose of caffeine is ROI positive, right?)

  • Read 12 books (I have previously been naive enough to think I could smash through 100 books in a year. So this year I think a more measured and realistic approach would be 1 per month, that’s do-able, right? Leave a comment for any must-reads I should consider)


  • Visit 2 countries (I really miss the thrill of travel and being a student often doesn’t allow for much room to save for adventures; so I plan on really exploring at least 2 new countries and documenting my journeys)



    Thank you so much if you got this far. I appreciate you taking the time to learn a bit about me. If you have any questions or would like to chat, feel free to get in contact via the comments or my social media links below. Thank you again for your time Steemit!!


Get in touch at:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@thedrewtrott
Instagram: http://instagram.com/thedrewtrott
Facebook: http://facebook.com/thedrewtrott
Twitter: http://twitter.com/thedrewtrott
Snapchat: TheDrewTrott

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit ;)
Great posts about nutrition are always appreciated in the #science tag. Be sure to check out @sco for example, he has a great tox-blog!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my service for showcasing promising newcomers!
Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thank you for the resteem, that is awesome!! Followed, love reading science news 🤓

Welcome to steemit, always love seeing fellow aussies here. Interesting journey with your plant-based diet and nutrition studies. :)

Thanks bud, appreciate the support. I like your vlog, consider yourself followed ✌🏼

Thanks Drew, let me know how you go joining #teamaustralia on discord

I’m in!! Now I’ve just gotta work out how to navigate this thing. Haha and I have thought SteemIt was confusing

You should travel while young and nice plan for this year I hope steemit can contribute to your plans in the future. Welcome once again and good luck.

Hey Drew!

My name is Alexi - I recently graduated with a degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. I would love to talk science with you! I'm especially interested in your personal research! I also have been playing guitar for a while now, love all kinds of rock, and am huge into fitness and health. My email is [email protected] - keep in contact! Throwing a follow your way now.

Hey Alexi, I would love to connect and chop things up. I think we have similar interests and passions, I'm gonna check out your podcast. I've got a Star Trek podcast (very nerdy) and plan on starting a nutrition related one shortly 👌🏻

Thanks! It's "Nash Bros" on Youtube.
That sounds so cool! Big Sci Fi fan over here - where can I find your podcast?
If all goes well we would love to have you as a guest in the future!

Can you post the link to your star trek podcast ( or make a blog about it)? I'll check it out!

Yeah of course. It is focused on the new Netflix series Discovery 🖖🏼 and it's called Bold Encounters.. https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/bold-encounters/id1291766983?mt=2&i=1000392932069

Subscribed my dude! Will give it a watch today for sure

Welcome onboard on steemit famlily... feel free to follow me @greatman4eva

Welcome to Steem! I’m mostly vegan, and i’m looking forward to your posts about your plant-based diet.

I’m also an author (and reader). I love your 12 book goal—definitely doable. I highly suggest a book of short stories if you get stuck, too because you can dip in and out of those if you have a busy month (without needing to restart a novel).

Thanks Jess. A book of short stories in a great idea actually, I had never thought of that. Can you recommend any that you like?

Each year, I read the collection of The Journey Prize stories — they release a book annually. I highly recommend any of the previous collections—all really cool, experimental stuff. I always end of thinking that I’ve never read anything like it before.

I also recommend Yasuko Thahn’s book of short stories called “Floating Like the Dead.”

First one sounds awesome, I'm going to look into that today. Thanks for the suggestion, I'll let you know how I go

You got SNEKKED!
I love your post!

You got snekked is my project for Jan 2018!
I look for good content (one post) and 2 new members who I will give a 100% upvote and mention in my daily post about this project! I will share your link in that post hoping it will bring you even more eyes!

Welcome to the Steemit platform!
I hope you will have a marvelous, slithering time here on the platform!
Have a look at @minnowsupport ! This is a community for newer members on the platform. You can also find them on Discord chat!
link: https://discord.gg/UDwKuUN

I will follow your blog because I really enjoyed reading your intro! Looking forward to learn more about food as well. I am not vegan at all but I am always interested to learn and read about how others live their life and why!
Have a marvelous time here on the platform.

Best wishes
Snekky

Wow! Thank you so much, that is amazing. Glad you liked the post, it means alot 🤙🏼

Most welcome! Looking forward to read more in the future!

Welcome! I'm fairly new to actually interacting on this platform. I really like your title, the bit of humor drew me in. Congratulations on your degree, and what a great and useful field to be in! I think you'll do great here. Oh man, and yea I remember myspace, how cool were we right. One thing I do miss about it is being able to spice my homepage up with music that played and the neat backgrounds and fonts.

Thank you for your kind words. Yeah I am super new also, will be awesome to see how many connection and progress we have made after our first month!! It's crazy to think about how MySpace completely slid into obscurity RIP

Hi @thedrewtrott, welcome to the community! I have not spent much longer time on the platform than you and it seems like we have similar interests. Nutrition is a relatively newer passion, unfortunately due to inaccurate information spreading, I didn't understand the fundamentals until early adulthood. I am always ready to hear more information about nutrition, particularly plant-based (finally think I'm understanding the importance of omega-3 ratio for avoiding sclerosis in the body, interesting in hearing about seaweed!).

Your statement of "thinking how to adult better" sounds like it could be a description of my blog, mind if I quote you? ;) I have only just released an introductory post as well but I am hoping that finding community members like yourself to help drive my project by discussing what we want to do for our future selves and finding the best indicated ways to do that, heavily reliant on peer-reviewed, evidence based research as much as possible, but with a conversation in the comments that allows for sharing of anecdotes and support or giving yourself a shout-out for progress hard-earned. I look forward to discovering your travel destinations and following your book selections for the year; do you gravitate toward fiction or non-fiction books most?

Thanks so much for your response and taking the time to read my intro 😁 . Yes, nutrition is one of those subjects that can be heavily influenced by media hype and personal preference/motives and the real science is often misunderstood or skewed to suit a particular agenda. Omega-3s are incredibly important, you're probably away of them in fish oils, but not alot of people know that fish actually get it by eating seaweed. So why not get it straight from the source, rather than harvesting fish unnecessarily.

Of course you can quote me, no dramas at all. Thanks again for taking interest in my background, I look forward to your content too. Consider yourself followed 👌🏻

I have had sesame seaweed snacks in my cupboard for a few months to try and I keep failing to actually grab them and pop em open...my fish intake has been down anyway, I will have to use them for a quick munch soon.

I appreciate the support!

Hey man and welcome to steemit!

I'm doing research in the field of food toxicology, so we're not that far apart discipline-wise^^
Should you decide to write scientific posts, make sure to include the #steemstem tag. Steemstem is a curation account of the scientific community here, that generously rewards high-quality posts.

Also, I recently found a very good guide for new steemians that u might be interested in.

Looking forward to read from you!

Awesome, I'd love learn about toxicology from you and share thoughts, that could be really fun. Also, thanks for the tips for the science tag and the link - I've looked at lots of Steem guides but that is easily the most concise version!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29