Tales of a Digital Nomad

Hey there everyone over here at the Steem community!

I discovered this site by watching a very informative youtube video about steemit by @jerrybanfield

I'm what some might call a "digital nomad." The ancient nomads were curious wanderers who never stayed in one place for very long. I share their curiosity, but rather than most of the ancients also did it to find food and resources.

As a digital nomad, I'm not traveling the world looking for resources; I'm doing it because I enjoy it. The digital aspect of it comes into play because all of the resources I need, I earn online.

I hate the idea of being tethered to a desk, and for the past three years, I've been able to fulfill my dreams and desires of experiencing the world. Launching and maintaining online businesses is how I earn money; all I need to do those things is some internet access. So I can be nearly anywhere in the world to do my job. Which, not to gloat, has maybe even exceeded my dreams of what this lifestyle could become.

Tours, cruises, and short trips are not what I consider to be 'traveling.'

I'm from San Diego originally, and since I left on my digital nomad experience, I've only been back four times...for a total of 3 months.

I started my lifestyle of voyaging with a trip over to Mumbai, which evolved into a stay of nearly two years. Economic conditions and exchange rates make things very cheap there, so I was able to live like a king during my stay. I had a maid that cleaned and cooked for me six days a week. Beyond her good food, I experienced some of the finest cuisines I've ever had at restaurants all over India.

Moreover, spending that much time there allowed me to make some great friendships, some of which will turn into lifetime ones.

Here's a video I took riding my electric skateboard around India with a buddy:

From Mumbai, I spent the next year bouncing around various Airbnb properties for months at a time. I spent a month in Singapore, three in Seoul and two in Tokyo. I'm presently in Manila, where I might be for a while. My stay here is indefinite for now because I've found the girl who I think just might be the one of my dreams.

18595297_10207341448013263_6214369479065256249_o.jpg

Sorry....

I just realized my post was turning into a biography, so let's move-on to what's likely way more important to you: how I'm able to make my living online as a digital nomad.

From a young age, I dreamt of starting an online business and having the sort of freedom a successful endeavour would ensure me. I went on to receive my Bachelor's of Science degree in IT back in 2010.

While the classes I took taught me a ton of information, I stumbled across one of the most lucrative aspects of my career thus far outside of a classroom.

At the time, the game "Second Life" was starting to become extremely popular. There was a lot of crazy stories going around campus by those who played the game, and some of my friends were even taking a course that was being taught INSIDE of the game!

Second Life is a role-playing game in which you, as it is aptly named, you create a second life...a virtual one. It's a game without a plot; you create your own avatar/character and then interact with other players and do whatever you want. From just chatting all the way up to sexual activity. It even has its' own currency, which can be exchanged for USD if so desired.

So upon graduation, I started researching as much about Second Life as I could and eventually found what I thought might just turn into a profitable niche for me. I then taught myself 3D modeling, the coding used in the game and Photoshop and then I went head-first in my preparation to study how build a profitable businesses in the game and (secretly win the unwinnable game).

Eighteen months after beginning my research I hit profitability. Those profits soon grew to $50,000 annually, which is where it hovers around today.

Having the passive income of Second Life has allowed me to invest in other (online) businesses and cryptocurrencies.

Discovering and learning about the world of blockchains has really shifted my perspective on money and the financial industry. They've become my primary focus over the last few months.

Cryptocurrencies are the future! I am currently investing in Ripple, Bitcoin, Ethereum, Steem, Augur, Storjcoin, Ethereum Classic, and Monero. That might seem like a ton, but there are so many other coins (almost 1,000) out there, and I am planning to buy some of those as well.

I'll be sharing some of my experiences with the Steem community, including my investment strategies, with the hope that if any of you has a similar dream, I can hopefully help you get at least one step closer to achieving it.

So once again, hey there everyone. I'll be looking at your blogs, so I hope you'll be checking mine out as well, as I'll be updating it frequently.

Cheers,

-The Digital Nomad

Sort:  

Updvoted thanks for the article.

Congratulations @thedigitalnomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @thedigitalnomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey man just seeing this post now. Enjoyed the slow-mo skating in India haha! Hope to one day live and work wherever I choose as well, so that I can surf my brains out around the globe.

I would be very curious to hear more about your take on cryptocurrencies, especially as it relates to the Eastern world. The East is light-years ahead of the West in terms of crypto and any insight you may have would be greatly appreciated (i.e. is Antshares on everyone's watchlist?). Now following you along!

Kindly,
- Brandon

Thanks McBotFace! I will always remember the bot who sent me a tip before I became rich!

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Very nice story! Thumbs up for taking life by the horns!

Welcome

great introduction.

Will be following you as I have juststarted my digital nomad life (thanks to the beauty of online poker) and hopfully I can learn a from you and you can give me advice here and there.

@thedigitalnomad welcome to Steemit and thank you for mentioning you joined after seeing the video I made about Steem! I followed you and hope to help vote up more of your posts in the future! The posts I like best are in depth complete guides which help solve the challenges we face starting out on Steemit, working online, and in life!

Welcome @thedigitalnomad
Here is few tips for you
firstly, follow me @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform
secondly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
thirdly, engage(upvote, comment, resteem) other people posts to help guide your grow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56446.21
ETH 2966.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.17