This one time at band camp...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Everyone! I'm Steven. I'm not much for writing about myself, but with joining any community, introductions are necessary. I'm 34, as of yesterday. I don't how I feel I about that honestly, it hasn't really settled in yet. It seems like just yesterday I was sitting in front of the tv watching cartoons on Saturday mornings, eating sugary cereal and not having any idea what the future had in store. When I was little the internet was still just an idea, and the cool kids carried Motorola pagers. Wow, we won't get in to that, haha.

Anyways, I live in North Carolina, USA. It's a great place to live, a little bit of everything within a short drive. Mountains on one end and the coast on the other, with lots of rural country roads in between. I work in the recycling industry, electronics recycling more specifically. We collect old, end of life electronics and separate all the different components. My buddy started the business a few years back after dropping out of college, and selling everything he owned to get the ball rolling. He comes from a long line of scrappers, you could say it's in his blood. On a side note, his grandfather invented the ecig. No joke, you can google him. Herbert Gilbert.

As I was saying, I'm not one to write about myself as I get easily side tracked. Outside of work, I'm into cars, art, outdoors, and a ton of other things I can't begin to fit into this box. Call me a jack of all trades, master of none. At least that's what my father liked to call me. As far as cars go, my passion has always been aircooled VWs and Saabs. I grew up in the garage with my dad, always hanging around absorbing what I could like a sponge. He was a hot rod guy. Lots of early American steel had passed through those doors, as well as more Harleys than I could count. Like most Vietnam vets, he was proud and wore it on his sleeve. He passed away in 2008 from Cancer, believed to have originated from exposure to Agent Orange during his time in service.

I spent quite a few years of my youth spray painting trains, spending almost every weekend in the train yard writing my "name" on any clean car I could find. I was never arrested but after a few close calls, and new found responsibilities I left it behind and never looked back. Every once in awhile I'll be sitting at a crossing, and I'll see some of my old work go by. I'll point it out to my girlfriend in excitement, only for her to respond with little enthusiasm and a comment along the lines of "I don't get why you would write a random word in paint on the side of a train". Growing up is the strangest thing. 10 years ago I was floating through the world without much consideration for anything other than where I might sleep that night, and here I am. A house, a car, a wonderful girlfriend, and 4 dogs. They kind of just multiplied, haha.

I never thought I would have 4 dogs, but as stability became a facet of my life I couldn't help but pay it forward. I work in a pretty rough area of town, and unfortunately some people aren't as compassionate when it comes to animals. I always take them in with the intention of finding homes, and usually I do, but these 4 have become my pack. I'm just going pretend I don't also have 3 cats, those little spawns of Satan don't deserve to be mentioned here.

I'll spare you any more details, especially my personal life. I do look forward to being a part of the Steemit Community, let's hope the platform prospers and grows. Thanks for reading.

20728738_10155487523735833_7970270127012870294_o.jpg

26804637_10155932846725833_1581845548631994488_n.jpg

14671238_10154495690510833_1603965832884051823_n.jpg

Can't forget my Saab.

13245408_10154111096925833_1413211009812532210_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Steven! Your dogs are the cutest :)

Thank you! They say dogs look like their owners so I'll take that as a compliment, jk!

          Hello, that was a nice introduction. As a new user if you find yourself needing a little help or guidance, feel free to hit any of the #newbieresteemday host up. @mudcat36 and @davemccoy started a program to help new users find their way and get a little bit of exposure and that is the tag we use.
          Do not let anyone bully you into voting for them, it is your vote and you get to decide not same yahoo idiot. Speaking of votes, it is very easy to run out of vote power as a new user, so you want to try to limit it to 10-15 votes a day. It takes about 24 hours to recover 10% of your vote power.
          That being said, welcome to steemit, it is a fun place once you figure it out some, and that really does not take long.

Thank you for the information, good sir. I tip my hat to you.

welcome to steemit and cant wait to see more post!

Congratulations @thecomplexcurve, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97