I'm a photochemist

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I'm Boof,

Cosmos04.jpg
I have a PhD in organic photochemistry. And I love learning about damn near everything I can get my hands on. One thing that I'm particularly interested in is using light to create new molecules, I like the idea that a photon of energy can create and destroy bonds. It's you shouldn't use a flash in an art museum when you take a picture. It's also why transition lenses change color in the presence of UV light.

I like photochemistry because it's involves the sun. We are after all, star dust. The thing that creates our existence is the vehicle for my intellectual pursuits. The sun at 93 million miles from our faces can still put out some serious energy. In fact, the world energy estimates for 2050 are above 50 Terawatts. But the crazy thing is that the sun light produces over 85 terawatts per hour on the surface of the earth.

I'm about to start on my career as an independent researcher, at a wonderful university. I envision myself using cryptocurrencies to help fund my lab when I get a large enough capital. But that's a long-term goal.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! :)

Welcome to steemit. We are always pleased to welcome more experts in their respective fields and look forward to learning more of photochemistry from your future posts.

Welcome to steemit.
Please follow me @ digitaldollar and upvote my current and future posts! Thanks!

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you enjoy our time here.

So does this breaking of bonds process also stimulate the production of melanin? Or when people say you need to get your vitamin D, get outside! do the photons stimulate vitamin D production through the break-down a precursor which gets the process going?

If you haven't already you should look into GNT-Golem coins, may be of use to you and your laboratory in the future. Will follow:)

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Hey, welcome to steem Boof :). Will be sending a follow your way and look forward to seeing your content. I'm studying biology myself, currently finishing my undergrad and hope to have a career as a researcher one day. Check out some of my content if you'd like!

Glad to have you. Interested to hear more about the things you learn as you learn them and have some good conversations when I am capable of keeping up. TIL is the part I miss most about reddit. so help me learn things haha. but I am following you now. Hope you like it on steemit

Welcome, great to see more and more PhDs showing up :)

I'm sure you will have a lot to share about alternative sun derived energy sources.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66940.80
ETH 3122.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77