Hello Steemit! Here's My Introduction

Hello Steemians!

Over the past few months, I have been hearing about Steemit endlessly from some close friends and figure it’s time I join in the fun. Thanks @jrue, @yumyumseth and @aweber!

My name is Blake and this is me.

39977292081_7a6dbec9b5_o.jpg
Photo Credit: @yumyumseth

I am 26 and live near downtown Columbus, OH. I graduated from The Ohio State University 2 years ago with a Bachelor’s in Social Work. I currently work in quality assurance for social workers at a nonprofit that provides housing for low-income seniors. The idea behind our program is to help seniors age in place and keep them as independent as possible for as long as possible. I have really enjoyed developing and improving this program that greatly impacts disadvantaged seniors across the United States.

For the first half of my life, I grew up in a city of about 1 million people in the country of Turkey. I was definitely in the minority as my family of 5 made up about a quarter of the North American population in the city. I love that I got to spend my childhood living overseas and travelling around Europe and the Middle East. This experience shaped my perspective and worldview to better understand people who are different than I am.

1910582_60368227500_2099_n.jpg
My oldest brother and me at a Roman amphitheater.

When I was 13, my family had to unexpectedly move to the US after threats against us (more on that in a future post). We moved to Northern Indiana and lived there for 6 years until I graduated from high school. The difference between urban Turkey and rural Indiana could not be more drastic and we could only take the cornfields for so long.

Two days after graduation, we moved to Columbus, OH and love being in a city close to restaurants, arts, and a diverse population. Over two years ago, my parents and I were almost killed in a car accident which has changed so many aspects of my life. Working through this has been one of the hardest things I’ve ever done, but has also grown me in numerous ways.

IMG_20180128_171918.jpg
Columbus on a recent sunny, winter day

I am hoping to use Steemit to share some of my stories, experiences, and perspectives. I may start dabbling in photography, but who knows where that will go. I’m excited about joining the Steemit community and making connections with some of you. I have some ideas for future posts, but if there is anything specific that you want to hear about, please let me know!

Oh, yeah! Here's my verification picture.
IMG_20180214_150736.jpg

Sort:  

Great. I didn't make Blake's list of friends. As usual.

This is Hans, by the way.

Maybe if you'd get a less fake name dude!

Semantics. We all know that Blake and I's relationship has always ricocheted between close-as-a-brother and Total Enemy.

Plus, I gotta prowl around with a pseudonym lest I rile constituents.

Hans, you make my list of friends, but you have never talked about Steemit with me so you don't get a shotout. Maybe in a future post! Also haven't we grown out of that ricocheting relationship?

That’s fair. I need to be more vocal about exciting cryptocurrency opportunities. And I thought we were past the ricocheting, but then along comes this #steemitdrama, and now, who knows?

Finally you've arrived! Welcome good friend! I look forward to seeing you post here!

It took me a while, but I have finally arrived!

More like it took you a while!

Yeehaw! Welcome young man, glad to have you here ;)

I don't think I qualify as young anymore, but I appreciate the welcome!

Hey Blake, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and you seem to be cool and I knew a guy with your name. He was Blake Webb. He was a youth pastor. I'm from Oregon. I went to college in New York and West Virginia. I am not sure if I have been to Ohio or not. I like what you are doing or were doing with helping seniors. It is especially great to help veterans.

Blake, that's like if you and I morphed into one person (and grew a b)! Blake Webb.

Dream team!

Haha, yeah, for sure.

That is my dream!

Welcome to steemit mate.

Welcome to Steemit Blake! Looking forward to your updates around here:)

Welcome to Steemit! Also, which city of Turkey you lived ?
I am also from Turkey and new in Steemit! :)

weird that s what eating for dinner tonight Turkey wings.

That's great! I lived in Gaziantep. Where are you from?

Nice! Gaziantep has a very grand kitchen, you are so Lucky! :) I am from İzmir.

Hey Turkey Girl, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and welcome.

Hey. I think you mean Turkish girl.. but its ok. Thanks!

Welcome to the community, enjoy your stay here and good luck!

Welcome to steemit @theblake. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

excellent introduction blake welcome to steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23