A Newbie in the House: My Intro Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

jv.jpg

Hello everyone! A newbie in the house and that's me! My name is Ernesto Sarno from the Philippines. I am called "Jay" by my friends and family. I am the youngest of 8 siblings. My father passed away when I was 12 years old, and I still have my mother and she is 83 years old. I got to know this platform through @summer14 (my best friend). I started my journey here last May 10.

I am more of a sporty guy and my favorite is basketball, a big fan of Michael Jordan. I also play volleyball, darts and badminton. I like photography, I plan to buy a good camera someday, so for now, I am using my mobile phone. I am managing my own small food business which started just this year with the help of my siblings.

Screenshot_7.png
PUP San Juan Campus Staff with Mayor Guia G. Gomez

Just like anyone, I too went through a struggle that happened almost 2 years ago.

I was a Government employee for 8 years and I was assigned to work at Polytechnic University of the Philippines San Juan Campus. I was hired (with the help of Sen. JV Ejercito) by the City Government of San Juan as Administrative Aide-111. I was their Student Services Staff, Librarian, Prefect of Discipline, Coach and Adviser to some Organizations on the campus.

Screenshot_6.png

When PUP Campus was still under construction. I was building my future plans as well.

Screenshot_15.png

I was loved, hated and admired by some students and professors. Loved, because being a coach and adviser, I became closer to some students who are sports minded and active in the campus activities, academic or non-academic. As Student Services staff, I always interact with them and always provide administrative and personal guidance. Hated, because I was really strict, esp. in the library. Prefect of discipline's job is to enforce rules, regulations and policies of the campus. Admired, because I was able to do all my job. It was really a tough job.

Freshmen Orientation, this is me briefing the students

I remember during campus activities such as Foundation Day and Sports Fest. Some actors, singer, and beauty queen would grace our event.

Screenshot_8.png

Some PBA basketball players namely Garry David, Jamelle Cornley and retired player Eugene Tejada came as well.

Screenshot_13.png

Too many activities during my years in the campus, rain or shine, night or day.

Screenshot_12.png

During Graduation day, I would hide my tears from the students. It was tears of joy, seeing them on the stage really makes me happy.

Screenshot_21.png

After years of hard work and dedication. I was promoted. I became the new Registrar. It was indeed the happiest day of my life. While doing the Transcript of records for Graduates or Dismissal, I couldn't contain my self from the happiness I felt, but my happiness didn't last long.

p16.png

It was election period that time for Mayor and my niece posted something on FB about our family giving a 100% support to a different political party which we know nothing about.

My family was a well- known supporter of a certain candidate. My mother served her and her son with love and loyalty for 5 decades. My mother was even a senior leader of her political group.

My family and I were mistakenly accused of changing political sides. Why would I bite the hand that feeds me? Our loyalty still remained intact for them but they still questioned us. I tried to tell them that we know nothing about it. It was my niece and her family who decided to transfer from the other candidate, not the whole family. But they just ignored us.

Then came June 30, 2016, I received a memo stating that it's my last day...:((. Yes, I was fired, the downside of working in Government as casual... I was a casual employee for 8 years.

On that same year, around December, all casual employees were regularized and THAT really crushed me to pieces, really so heartbroken. In as much as I wanted to suppress the tears but it's uncontrollable like it has a mind of its own. I shed tears, so many tears that day, I didn't feel the Christmas spirit, I was devastated. There were so many ifs. If my niece was considerate, If that Fb post didn't come out. I would be reaping all the things I deserve.

It was a life-changing experience for me and one of the saddest moment. It's really hard to move on when you put your mind and heart into something. You need to be strong and good friends around because life is indeed tough, Now, I am trying to pick up the pieces. I still believe and have faith in God. Maybe, someday I will know why It happened. I have forgiven my niece. I hope it will be a lesson for her to "Think before she clicks."

To my dear best friend, @summer14 thank you so much for always being there for me, for your continued support and reminding me always that God loves me and whatever happens God is always with me and these are just trials. My apologies for not telling you that I have joined Steemit. I wanted to surprise you Hahaha. By the way, I am enjoying the photograph challenges and Photobomb contest.

To @surpassinggoogle, I once worked in a state university. I am aware how a student struggle to make both ends meet. This platform is filled with future heroes, some are probably students who are trying to work their way to reach their dream. Please continue what you do best and that is to inspire others, student or not, young or old, millennials or non-millennials. God bless your heart sir.

To PUP Campus, my second home, Thank you so much! I will treasure every moment, every experience. I learned a lot from you. Until now I still miss you. It will surely take a longer time to heal.

p11.png
This photo belongs to Anton Luna borrowed with permission.

Please support @surpassinggoogle as witness.
To vote his witness, simply visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" into the first search box for witnesses.

Photos are mine except for the last one, the PUP Building by Prof. Anton Luna

**

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!
Nice introduction Ernesto!
I see that you want to buy a good camera someday so let me recommend you @Fundition
Fundition is a next-generation, decentralized, peer-to-peer crowdfunding and collaboration platform built on the Steem blockchain.
You can post your project at fundition.io and raise funds to buy a new camera.
Join Fundition on Discord if you need help creating your first project.

My best wishes!

Welcome to Steemit @tenaciousjay :)

Thank you so much!

Hello, tenaciousjay! Best wishes for an awesome journey here in this awesome community :) Have fun

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Greetings, tenaciousjay! Wish you a very successful journey here on Steemit! Enjoy this journey!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Kakajoin nyo lang po pala. Welcome po! 😊
Maku @curie @ocd pa posts nyo dito pag ganyan. Ako parang Facebook update status lang at wala ako time sa #SteemChat at #Discord haha

Good Luck po!

Maraming Salamat @pinay! palagay ko ako din walang time sa discord kasi sabi ni @summer14 late na usually ng start. 9pm pa lng tulog na ako.

Ito po blog ko sa kabilang site about Steemit sana po alam nyo ng hindi dapat gamitin password maglogin para safe account. 😊
http://www.bitlanders.com/blogs/my-2017-2018-experience-with-steemit/5718032

Welcome to the world of possinilities...Its a very good introduction the came from heart..Lovely photographs too..

Stay blessed and I am following you too

Thank you! Glad you like the photographs.

Welcome to Steem, @tenaciousjay!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2679 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.15 : Signatures.

Hello Bes! Haha! Ramdam ko na ikaw yun eh. Anyways, welcome to Steemit. I hope you will be successful here. Thank you for taking my advice, labas din sa comfort zone paminsan-minsan. Basta I am always here for you.

Pano mo na ramdaman? ah Ciguro yung sa shiritori

Nope, ung Rubber shoes haha!

hello dear brother! welcome to steemit! I hope you enjoy on here. have a nice day take care yourself ! good luck stay with steemit!

Thank you and take care too.

Thank you @cheneats, everyone is so welcoming here I really hope it'll be a smooth journey.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63