Oh I'm a malayali! And yup I'm not staying in Kerala, but in India.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

A big happy Hi…. from this restless foodie dance-enthusiast from India, Teena Johnson. As indicated before, I am a malayali as my parents hail from kerala. But ever since I have born its been a wonderful journey, which I can metaphorically say a nice ride in a lazy river of a waterpark! ;-)

IMG-20151101-WA0008.jpg

Starting from my first cry as a baby in Guntakal, a small town in Andhra Pradesh state. This place is known for its hottest chillies (that'll literally make you cry :-P) , which cannot leave their cuisine.

red_chilli.jpg

In a couple of months, we left for our nuclear family life in a place called Nasik, Maharashtra state. With a plethora of people from different states staying in our township, I never realised when I learnt Hindi, even before my mother tongue malayalam. Pretty amazing stuff, how the society brings out the best in you with such an ease. Below is a picture of my 1st school, I can recall being ragged here by my senior girl in pre-school :-P

my_1stSchool.jpg

Then, my dad got transferred and we shifted to West Bengal state, a small town there near Kharagpur. I was put in the one and only bengali medium school in town. It was crazy as my teachers didn't know our (me and few others from my township) common language hindi/english properly and neither did we know their common tongue Bengali. I remember enjoying the 'Mishti doy' (Bengali sweet yoghurt made with jaggery) in small matka (earthern cups) as captured in a picture below:

Mishti-Doi-2.jpg

After 3 years in this beautiful state rich in its culture and food with sweets and fish on the priority list, we moved to the palace city Mysore in Karnataka state. I was lucky enough to do my further schooling and college here. I am sharing a few pictures clicked in Mysore :

1445741951114.jpg!1445741910603.jpg

Mysore Palace, India's only illuminated royal structure lighted up by nearly a lakh incandescent lamps :

palace.jpg

Mysore pak is very famous and a must try sweet of this beautiful garden city:

1200px-Mysore_pak.jpg

Ever since I have been in this Karnataka state where the native people are so warm and welcoming. People from all-over India come down here in search of jobs and settle down in the silicon valley of India - Bengaluru. I am happy that I am also one among this huge crowd.
Apart from living in these cities, I visit my native place Kerala fondly called as God's own country, to breathe the fresh air and enjoy the greenery.

IMG_20161001_124922059.jpg

That was my journey until now. My professional background has been engineering. And hobbies include dancing, listening to music and playing badminton. Dear Steemit, this first write-up was so much fun and I hope to write more here.
And that's me in the picture below, on Nandi hills - the best escape from Bengaluru city life, signing off!

IMG_20170319_083916098.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thank you for your words of encouragement . . . Do follow me for some interesting posts which I would be posting soon :-) steemit ! @hein-tran

Welcome and congrats on joining! If you like what you see on Steemit and support it, there is a great new article on this community being the Facebook killer! I am also featured in the article on Investorplace.com as being a musician on Steemit (Page 2 @wvm)! If you agree that Steemit is the Facebook killer upvote the post at the link below! Help spread the word of Steemit by spreading this article and the post around! Re-steem and upvote! https://steemit.com/steemit/@wvm/i-am-featured-in-investorplace-com-for-steemit-com-check-it also follow me here @wvm

lovely introduction and welcome to the steemit community. Hope you enjoy it here :)

Thank u so much @man-d :-)

Welcome to Steem @teenz I have sent you a tip

Thats great... Keeping my spirits high ! Do follow me, for more interesting posts @boymcbotface :-)

Nice intro Teenz :) I guess I should write one of those myself :P

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Great..... I would surely take your advice and put my efforts to do better on steemit :-) do follow and encourage @goodaytraders :-)

Welcome to the wonderful world of steemit! You will definitely have a great experience here.
Feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK to get updates on assorted delicious recipes from all over the world.

I have followed u.... I just love food <3

welcome to steemit ,you will have a wonderful time here!!!!!
@follow

Thank you @tinashe hoping for the same.... Do follow me for more interesting posts which would be coming up :-)

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

If your are looking forward to my next post.... I am ought to put something interesting! Do follow me :-)

Welcome @teenz. From Lucknow here!

Namaste my fellow indian ... Proud to have u here ;-) follow me for more interesting posts @kryptoknightk ... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61228.86
ETH 2663.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54