Single Mom Turns 50 and Goes Crypto!

Hello, my friends!! My Name is R. Anne and today is my 50th birthday!

Let me be real, it's strange to even type that out. I mean, I don't feel 50! I guess that's what everyone says at this age? I don't know, but I'm trying real freaking hard to just embrace it.

Wait, I'm a single mom with an 8 year old son and work from home taking care of it all. That means I don't get out much. So how do I do the embracing? I guess I could get a sitter, go out, and get wild dressed like a 30 something year old MILF!

The thought of that is nauseating to me.

I'd say I fall somewhere between the hip, cool mom and nerdy type.. so here's how I chose to celebrate my day reaching the half century mark ~ I went totes crypto!

That's right, boys.. I've been reading all your steemit posts and watching all your videos about cryptocurrency! I've learned just enough to understand the basics and take the plunge. I got the Coinbase app on my phone and just purchased a little of each ~ bitcoin, ethereum, and litecoin. It was painless and I won't have a hangover in the morning.

Some may ask what's the big deal? I say it IS a big deal!! I would be interested to know just how many girls (maybe even guys) my age even know what cryptocurrency is. I'm guessing not even near 50%.

Might I also add that probably even less than that know about Steemit.. just sayin.

So, the lesson today is learn to embrace your life at any age, never be afraid to learn something new.. and whatever excites you, do that!

me2.jpg

Sort:  

i love it! congrats to you for being so brave and forward thinking! happy birthday to you!!
if you're looking to invest more money, I would recommend gdax, coinbase's sister site. you can upload USD without fees and then set limit orders to get better pricing on your purchases. after you buy, then you can send the crypto to your coinbase wallet for free also.
welcome to steemit also!

Aww thanks so much!! Interesting.. I will check it out!!

Happy birthday R. Anne! I turned 50 on Monday as well ;)

@rstarbard happy birthday to you too! Yay! My new 50 friend.. we got this! ;)

Hello! I must say that I am impressed. I too made my 50th trip around the sun this year and it was weird one for sure.

Hi @givonwayne!! Yeah.. so freaking weird. But we are happy to be here for it, right?

Yes you are so right. On another note I see that you are a fan of kindness. Have you seen the kindness diary on netflix. It is about this guy who travels the world on the kindess of others. It is very inspirational.

No but I will for sure check it out! I love documentaries and that one sounds like one I would really enjoy.. thank you!

Happy Birthday! You'll see it's not so bad being 50. I turned 50 three years ago. You're right about embracing it...it's all in the attitude.
I bought my first cryptocurrency last week, and my only regret it not doing it sooner.

Yes.. all in the attitude!

I feel the same way about getting into crypto sooner.. I think it will still be amazing to see what happens in the next year or two!

Great story! People can be so awesome.

Thanks @zoomtruth!! I agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52