Emerging Toronto Artist Tanzina Amin

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I am a self-taught artist in Toronto, and a member of the Emerging Toronto Artists.  I am a supply chain and sourcing professional by day, artist by night, and a mom 24/7. My husband Carlos is a huge fan of my work, a great supporter of my passion and an active partner in all my artistic endeavours.

Having graduated in Architecture, I am drawn towards visual composition and balance. Growing up in Bangladesh, I was fascinated and inspired by colourful culture and traditions. I am drawn towards forms which are powerful in their simplicity and embrace an abstract style. My style is continuously changing. Over the past 2-3 years I have been drawn towards expressionism, portraiture and figurative art.

I started feeling like a "real artist" only since last summer after my first art exhibition in Toronto, although I have been painting on and off for many years and took several lessons and courses to learn and improve different skills. Art has always been my passion, and when I'm painting, I can be completely absorbed in my art, oblivious to my surroundings. Whenever I have a moment to relax, most of my time will be spent researching and learning about art: new techniques, novelty material, unique tools and textures.

My other passion is teaching, and I have taught various fields throughout my career including language, architecture and art. Through research and experimenting, I have developed some "user-friendly" techniques to help the absolute beginner to learn to draw and paint in a very short period of time.

After years of procrastination, last year I gave myself a goal to follow my true passion. I set realistic short term goals to start: build a website (www.tanzina.ca), get more active on social media to promote my art, and of course, PAINT! Over the past year, I have participated in several exhibitions and juried events, won awards and recognition, joined a few online galleries and artist groups, and started to build my network in the local artist community. Carlos and I also organise monthly art exhibitions with local artists with various levels of experience, beginner to professional.

The portrait below is of my son, my first expressionist portrait. I won the People's Choice Award at my first ever juried art show.

To me, painting is meditative, therapeutic and expressive. I hope my paintings can be a source of comfort and inspiration to the viewer, and somehow make a connection with one's inner self.

Please check out more of my work on my website and follow me on social media!

Website: http://www.tanzina.ca/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/tanzinastudio/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/tanzina.amin/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/TanzinasStudio


 

Sort:  

Your art makes me feel something. I get "good feels". lol I like the way you do eyes in your paintings. ... So much going on. So much expression. :) Thank you for sharing.

@stacydebrew Thank you so much!

If you think in terms of a year, plant a seed; if in terms of ten years, plant trees; if in terms of 100 years, teach the people.

Ciao! Ciao!

Exciting to have ya!

Congratulations @tanzina! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks for the post!!

Have you ever dramatically changed a habit, or gotten yourself out of a rut? How'd you do it?

To know what you know and to know what you don't know that is real wisdom.

Ciao! Ciao!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43