I'm a musician who writes controversial things about music - Howdy!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Oh, hi Mark!

I’m an Irish composer and I run the YouTube channel, Tantacrul. I regularly post videos on a wide range of musical topics, employing a video essay format similar to channels like Vox or Every Frame a Painting but with a critical and comedic vein.

This format is unusual for music philosophy. I’m a big fan of the 20th century music philosopher, Theodore Adorno, who wrote amusing and withering criticisms of the musical trends of his day. However, there’s a certain unwillingness to be critical about music on YouTube because the technology works in a way that punishes you for it. I recently did a video where I poked fun at the Eurovision Song Contest and ended up receiving a lot of incredibly nasty comments that continue to this day. The video indexes really well when you search for ‘Eurovision 2017’, meaning that the majority of my viewers are Eurovision fans – the worst possible audience. I’m hoping that if I keep up what I’m doing, I’ll eventually find my audience but YouTube isn’t making that easy.

My latest video takes aim at toys and TV shows that claim to provide musical education to young babies. In making my argument, I use a mixture of serious and facetious points: on the one hand, I discuss research concerning how babies learn spoken languages. On the other, I engage in a tonal dissection of the nursery rhyme ‘The Wheels on the Bus’. My most popular video to date is about Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’, where I point out how the song is structured before measuring the quality of various covers of it, taking notable aim at my fellow countryman, Bono, in the process.

Me

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @tantacrul! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem @tantacrul I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks very much!

in LOVE with your work

I think it is time to do another 'Welcome to Steemit' post. I think you deserve one..... It is 06:00 in the morning and waking up to those appaling renditions of a beautiful song (not really my cup of tea though ... Imo not his best ) .... Well that sort of phucked up my mood.
Great post, 100% upvote , followed and resteemed.... An honour as it is not something I like doing. {meanders off to kick the dog ...humming hallelujah in any octave I please}
Oh yeah, if using images which are not yours ... Provide a reference to the source like so ..... Image Credit

Look who's here ^^ Tantacrul, In case this has been your first Introdusemyself Post i'm here to welcome you to Steemit. I hope you have a lot of fun here and you may follow me. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thanks a lot, man, will do!

welcome. looking forward to your posts. following you

Welcome to steemit tantacrul. Best of luck to you!

Hey ! Welcome to Steemit, I hope you will have lots of fun interacting with the community. Have a great time n do follow me @manish22rai ....Cheers !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42