Hail, and well met!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hail, and well met, Steemit community!

My name is Ty Knight and I am new to the Steemit universe. I am really intrigued by Steemit, and know that I have a lot to learn about its community and people. My father, Jon Knight ( @jonknight ), has been on here for a time and he suggested that I check it out.

About me: I am 32, live in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and work for the Human Services Department. My work sits at the center of a vortex where IT and public policy meet. I have an associates degree in anthropology (I am an anthro freak, especially fascinated by language and culture), and have just completed my bachelor's degree in organizational communication. The study of organizational communication is the study of how organizations are born, live, and die. I am floating around the idea of pursuing a graduate degree in public policy next.

I am an avid producer of music and spend nearly all of my free time engaged in that endeavor. Some of the things I produce are traditionally compositional in nature, and some are really far out heavy metal improv sessions. I will share my music here, and hope to meet and learn from lots of music producers and musicians along the way! I have been focusing my own efforts on epic, symphonic heavy metal and that is what I tend to listen to. I also really enjoy 90's country, alternative rock, and classical music. I'll jam nearly anything and my tastes cross the entire board. Beyond heavy metal, I'd like to create incidental music for movies, video games, and commercials.

I also write lots of poetry, which I may share here, as well. My Dad seems to be pretty fond of the writing community here, so I am excited to see what I can learn in that area, as well. Sometimes I also make graphic art, but that's less common.

I thought that I would share one of my compositions in this post as a kind of sonic introduction. I hope that you like it, and I look forward to getting to know you all. I'll also quote my details section from Facebook here, as it basically sums up my interests. Thanks for reading, and have a great day! :)

I play music and write poetry. I'm fascinated by physics and philosophy, anthropology and any form of art. I love history and culture, languages and symbols, religion, spirituality and mysticism, psychology and the foundations of belief, knowledge and understanding.

Above all, I am a student of humanity in all its diverse myriad of expression.

Fade To Grey, by Hail The Jester on DSound

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, Ty. The community here is amazing—you'll have a good time exploring it and meeting the folks. I enjoyed that composition you shared, at least the first half, before it stopped loading. (I'm not sure why, but I always have trouble with Dsound and Dtube) I look forward to reading your poetry and hearing more of your music

Hi, Dbooster! Thank you very much for the warm welcome :) My father has told me about your poetic talent and skill. I look forward to reading your work! I also noticed the loading issues with DSound. I think I'll move all of my stuff over to YouTube for now to bypass it. I'm glad you enjoyed what you heard, though, and thanks again! :)

Good to have you here, @tajmikel! Any friend of your dad's is a friend of mine. :-)

Hi, Rhonda! Thanks for the welcome, and the feeling is mutual :)

Welcome to Steemit, tajmikel. If you are even half the poet your father is, I will LOVE your poems. Not kidding. And then music (metal, no less) AND graphics. You tick all my favourite boxes!
Will be stalking your Steemit account if you don't mind.

Well hey it sounds like we have some common interests! Nice to meet you tinypaleokitchen! I'll hop a skip to your Steemit as well! :) My poetry is pompous and verbose, and my music is not far off O_O I hope that any aspect of it may be enjoyable, and I look forward to seeing more of your posts! (listening to your rendition of Hallelujah as we speak) :)

Welcome man. I see the link to the block in your dad's comment. Be sure to drop by and say "Hi!" to everyone. You should do great on Steemit given the variety of content you are likely to post. Best of luck and Welcome!

Hi, Jason! Thanks for the welcome and well wishes. I got to hang out in the block for a few minutes the other day and everyone there seemed very animated, perhaps a bit irreverent and silly, and like skilled writers. Totally my kind of people :D Thanks again, and nice to meet you!

Welcome to steemit! Looking forward to seeing you in the Writers Block as well. Lots of good talent on the Block!
I'm a writer, and also a fan of heavy metal music, and my wife is a singer/composer.

Welcome!

Hey, Negativer, sorry for the slow response on this! I dug your taste in music and look forward to following your work here on Steemit! Maybe we can even look into a collaboration some day? O_O :D

Welcome to Steemit. I hope to see you soon at The Writers' Block.

Hi, Gmuxx! Thanks for the welcome, and I'll see you there! :)

Welcome - I am always happy when I see we have been joined by another person of talents. I listened to the music and though I am not into heavy metal, it actually almost sounded like classical music on a power trip.

Have clicked on Follow - and, I tried to check your facebook page, but got a message saying either link is broken or else the account has been removed.

FB link works fine for me!

I have never used FB, so when I got the above-mentioned message, I thought you might be one of the many recently being banned.

Does not bother me, would prefer to get to know you and your talent here.

Hi, Arthur! Thanks for the welcome and for checking out the song! I really, really appreciate your appraisal of the music as resembling classical music on a power trip. On one hand, I LOVE the genre of heavy metal called power metal - on the other hand, I feel very humbled that you would describe it as classical music. Truly, thank you for listening and for commenting on it. Sorry about the Facebook link but honestly you're not missing much over there ;)

Hi Taj, welcome to steemit! the soundcloud link seems broken though

Hi, Fintechie, thank you for the welcome! I noticed that about the Soundcloud link, too, but am not sure how to fix it. :) Lol. The URL is good but the link doesn't seem to work.

Updated the Soundcloud link to a DSound link and seems to be working now :)

Hi and welcome to steemit :)

Hi, Hanen, thank you! :)

Hey Ty! So great to see you on here. Sorry for the late welcome; been sicky. But thrilled you're here. I suspect you'll do very well!

Hi, Trish!! I'm glad to be on here, it's a really interesting site! I'm sorry you were sick but am glad that you're feeling better now :)

Still learning O_O lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48