YouTube's New Partner Program - Is It Still Worth It To Post On YouTube? [First Post, Hello steemit!]

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

HEY EVERYONE! 

a little backstory - I have been on YouTube since 2014 (2006 if you count not really trying to be into the "youtuber" lifestyle). My wife and I really like to entertain, we would do things like maintain a Let's Play channel, do challenges, even unbox things:

And yeah, it was fun, it's always fun! We've been drama nerds since we could remember! It's always been my personal dream to be able to just entertain people full time. I didn't care about being a millionaire or a YouTube celebrity. Just enough to survive off of whatever I could scrounge up.

Well guess what?! There are WAAAAY too many Let's Play Channels, not just on YouTube, but on Twitch, and the internet in general. Anyone can buy a cheap capture card and just film themselves playing PUBG and do that weird fake laugh and scream show they always do. I'm not talking about the bigger guys, The Jacks and Marks of the YouTube world, respect to them, they did this early and love doing it. I'm talking about people 6, 7, 8 years later that are trying to start it up from scratch. Why even start? Is even ANY genre worth pursuing?

I made this video originally for YouTube with the uncensored version to Patreon. A buddy of mine whom my wife and I made our Let's Play channel with tipped us off to steemit and D.Tube after seeing said video. I have decided to upload the uncensored versions of the YouTube videos here, as an extra incentive to bring people from the YouTube space to D.Tube. Here's hoping right?

In the video I explain that, yes, it is possible to still "make it", but not to put all your eggs into the bright red adpocalypsed basket. There are so many more avenues to take as well. Steemit articles for one work, as do D.Tube videos, let's take it a little further, are your videos also good in audio form? Have you tried turning them into a Podcast? What about the script you made for said video, parallel to steemit's blogging system have you tried other blogs like Medium? There is a way to maximize the content you put out, the days of trying to be just a successful YouTuber are over. To me the goal is to maximize audience through different websites, including Facebook, Twitter, Instagram... Myspace? No... Let's leave Myspace alone.

So, I leave the rest to you guys. What do you think? Did I leave any websites out of the equation? I know snapchat and tumblr are important spaces to occupy as well, each having their own "language" to post into. You wouldn't put gifs on snapchat and you certainly wouldn't put 7 minute videos on Twitter. What methods have you all done that you have seen with some success?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30