There's a new girl in town and she's really, really nervous about posting this

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

image

Breathe in... Breathe oooouuuuttt.... Ok... I'm good so LETS DO THIS! So umm, hi everyone! I guess it's a thing to introduce yourself when you join this platform so I guess I have to do that too. Anyhow my name is Kara (it's pronounced Car•A, not Care•A), and before anyone says anything... I'm looking at you... insert random name from random name generator: err.. Shane... (if your name is Shane I'm sorry :P). I was given this name by my total NEEERRRDDD of a father, (if you ever read this, 1st hi dad, 2nd I am guilty of being a nerd as well so don't start yammering about "disrespecting my roots" to me whenever you happen to see this).

My Father(probably) during the naming ceremony (is that even a thing)

The reason being, my father with his ever brilliant insight thought that as a blonde haired blue eyed sack of meat known as a human, I needed a name befitting me and what he and my mom perceived my 'personality' to be at the time. So of course, he named me after Supergirl, or Kara Zor-El. I am of the belief that this name choice was not accurate in the slightest. As you can probably tell, I am, to put it lightly, really really really shy as it took me 2 weeks to finally decide to open an account on this platform. So now that I've done it, I probably should get started for real now huh?

But before I do, here is my favorite animal in the world!


TO YOU ALL, I PRESENT: THE NETHERLANDS DWARF RABBIT!!

So umm yea, nice to meet all of you! As I said before my name is Kara @^3€3¥ (I am a total nobody but heck #privacyamirite, though if I ever reach 2k subs Ill get a steemit tattoo on the top voted location gulp) but I'll be going by @Synesthesia here on the Steemit forums. I'll get to the meaning of that username shortly. But first here's a really brief and boring life story about yours truly. I was born in Northern California to a couple comprised of a Norwegian software engineer and an Icelandic artist. I was in public school, through middle school, until my parents took me out and started home schooling me (there will be a post about that later), so yea long story short I am currently at the ripe old age of 19. I am taking some biochemistry classes at my local community college over the summer, with the hopes of using this time as an opportunity to reorient my life, figure out my priorities and the best path towards success.

On a side note, I would love to post pictures about various stuff and thangs, but since I don’t own a phone with a good camera, y’all can fuggetaboutit. That is probably a good thing, because I love painting, and I've gotten pretty good at it, in fact I am pretty good at making 'photographic'(I.e. Discernible) looking art pieces! Indeed, my profile picture was created using pastels, oil paint and charcoal. Anyways that totally lost the whole life story vibe didn't it... doesn't really matter because I will be doing biweekly about me blogs. Moving on!

image
For you out of staters who do not know the difference between the north and south of Cali.

So yeaaaaa… Synesthesia, specifically my variant of it; chromesthesia… that word you kind of recognize but also think sounds like a disease. Well its not a disease its just a neurological abnormality, but a good one! All it means is that my brain has about 100 million more connections in between my visual and auditory lobes. Which in laymens terms, means that for me sound=color, so when I listen to a song like, idk, Hello. This is close to what I see(its moving in my head):

image

Imagine fireworks and supernovas every-time you listen too a good song… Yeaaa…

My Synesthesia also makes me very sensitive to loud noises and as such, I will never be able to PARRTAYYY, like my other friends do… Though it does make every day life a wonderful thing! For the best results I listen to classical music and movie scores. So yea.. this was just an intro, I will write a lot about it in the future, but for the time being I hope the username makes sense!

Anyways for the moment I need to do something somewhat productive and I've always loved writing and if I do say so myself, I have an excellent comedic voice. (Jk that's for you peeps to decide) So moving on, I had the brilliant idea to get into this REALLY STRANGE world (Crypto has 736 currencies, srysly o-O) when I saw a local paper article about bitcoin and cryptocurrency, and I was like this is coollllll.... I'm a self taught programmer so the idea behind the blockchain was really cool and intuitive to me, however I did not know how valuable BTC was, so I was all like I'm gonna buy 20! (You see I assumed they were a dollar a piece) and to my surprise I realized I couldn't afford a bitcoin even if I wanted to. So then I was like, let's google 'how to get into cryptocurrency' and then to my surprise I saw an article on a platform called Steemit, of all things. I tentatively clicked this link, and I swear I thought gif pop ups of d*cks would be floating around my crappy old Laptop that I built from scraps. (Man I am referencing some killer stories in this intro, and I guess I'll have to talk about em later huh). Anyways I saw some really good advice and content from a couple people, @papa-pepper, (love your wilderness content and almost endless kindness), @daveks (amazing photography), @noisy (my dad is a white hat hacker aswell), @trafalgar (Funny comedic writing that I cannot wait to up vote)

And so here I am.

So now that I am here and I've shared some stuff with you all, I would love to start to get to know all of you! So uh yea, if you liked me or my style of writing, I plan on doing a couple things on this blog. I'll detail those out for you before I actually, you know... post the d@mn thing

But before that, I want to give a big shoutout to @timcliff and @theprophet0 for such giving me such warm welcomes and all the help and laughs they provided me with! Go follow them if you have not already!

So here's what is on the current docket:

Monday's, Wednesday's and Friday's: Synesthesiac Paints for strange people on the internet. I'll be taking song requests that you guys would want me to turn into a painting... though be warned if the song is sh$t I will paint shit.

Tuesday's: Hello World, It's Kara. <-- about me stuff, next tuesday will be about my home schooling!

Wednesday's: Teh Puzzel Of Teh Wek
(I LOVE Abstract puzzles so I'll be posting those, and if I ever manage to get money pooled on here I'll give those away to the winners!)
image
^ Here is an example

Thursday's: Random art I made in between the ages of 15-19!

image

Friday's: My crypto journey, that really needs some expert advice! (I'll do an intro post regarding this, I have a fun idea!!)

Saturday's: Kara still thinks top 10's are interesting apparently

Sunday's: My mental tool of the week! (starts next week, when I will go into meditation and mind mapping!)

So uh yea! That's about all! If you managed to make it through this whole post you have some seriously strong willpower, anyways follow me if any of that stuff looks interesting!

Much Luv and Many Toodles!

Peace ✌🏻🤘🏻🖖🏻

Sort:  

welcome! Welcome to Steemit. Have fun. Read Lots.

Are you sure you are a nerd -- with words as great as those, you are a geek for sure ;)

I like your superpower -- me...if I care about the outcome of an event, I can taste when a person lies. It is kind of bitter.

Steem On.

Geeks of the world unite!! Muaahahaha!
But seriously though..it's been a pleasure talk with you thus far @synesthesia! You're gonna fit in great around here!

Welcome to SteemIT enjoy this wonderful community..its awesome here!

Ok It took me a while but I am sure its the D! That did not came out the right way lol hahaha (for the puzzle :p)

Welcome to Steemit!

It's actually not d, 😝, good guess though! and thank you!

WHAT !?

It was C wasn't it ?

Hehe guess again 🤗

Geez this is hard, ok last one I thought at first it was the A

You're correct! It's A

Welcome @synesthesia. Make sure you use the #art tag too for you art based posts, plus follow the #art tag to an amazing community of artist and some great competitions and initiatives to get involved in.

An excellent introductory post, I enjoyed reading about how you discovered Steemit- great initiative! You sound like you have some really interesting posts up your sleeve, I'll be following with interest.

That is so kind of you! It makes me really happy that you enjoyed my work! I will take all your suggestions to heart! Thank you!

Loading...

On your bio you're a poud viking...lol
Proud I bet is what you meant. ;)
I like your intro, following ya for more!
You'll fit in nicely on Steemit!
And you don't seem shy at all!
Welcome Kara! ;)

Oh my goodness! I didn't even see that! Thank you for pointing that out!

No problem! ;)

Great intro! My sister's name is Kara, we grew up in Southern California, were homeschooled, and she is also an artist. :)

Thats so funny! You should get her on steemit!

Kudos for trying! Also count me in as your 1780th follower, I am new to crypto and all this financial stuff, so I am counting on you to continue to do what you're doing 😄

Awesome! Thank you. :) Keep an eye on http://understandingblockchainfreedom.com and I'll do my best.

And there she is welcome to SteemIt! :)

Welcome to steemit lady :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46