hi my name is Sindre from the west coast of Norway - ultima Thule

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

picture of me in jotunheimen(mountains) half a year ago

Hello, I am 26 years old and soon to be a student studying translation, I am planning on taking a three year degree in translation from English to Norwegian. I am very much familiar with the cryptoscene and I find this project very interesting. The project is interesting because I now can improve my writing skills while earning hopefully some money on the side :)! I hope there will soon come an opportunity to write in my native language, so hopefully more Norwegians join this community soon.

I was born in Oslo and when I was around seven my family moved to the Hague in the Netherlands, we lived there for three years. At some point I actually spoke better English than Norwegian. My father worked at the Norwegian embassy as a diplomat while we were their. I went to an international American school. This was a very stimulating time for me, I was meeting people from all over the world at school.


(me with friends in 2009 on my first and only mushroom trip, it was a pleasant experience, now I don't do any psychedelics, not even weed. I drink rarely. I didn't overdo these substances in the past, I just don't have the need anymore.)

After three years we moved back to Norway outside of Oslo. This was when a more difficult time of my life began, I was bullied pretty much every day from when I was 11-12 til I was 15-16. It got so difficult that I at one point even considered suicide. I got through this dark part of my life with a better understanding of what true suffering is, this has some advantages in that I might be able to understand some people better, but it has also left me with a pretty bleak look on life as well.

(2010 drinking with coworkers in the mountains of Norway.)

After high school I left home and moved to go and study social science at the University on the west coast of Norway. University life was not something for me and I left and worked as a kindergarden worker and waiter. It has no always been as easy moving to a new place either. I struggle with trying to find a meaningful thing to do with my life. I have contemplated everything from becoming a psychologist to becoming a ship builder(building viking style clinker boats). The psychologist thing is interesting because I consider it very meaningful to help people, the only problem here is that it is very difficult to get into the program. The ship building thing is also interesting because this is a way of building boats that has a direct line to the viking age and outside of Scandinavia this tradition does not exist. Working with my hands and having my awareness in my body and not in my head I think is very important in this neurotic modern age. There is something special about building something tangible with ones hands, instead of creating cathedrals of knowledge or working with something very abstract. In general it is my opinion that in day to day interactions one should not be thinking, but being in the moment as much as possible.

"Clinker built (also known as lapstrake)[1] is a method of boat building where the edges of hull planks overlap, called a "land" or "landing." In craft of any size planks are also joined end to end into a strake. The technique developed in northern Europe and was successfully used by the Norsemen and typical for the Hanseatic cog. A contrasting method, where plank edges are butted smoothly seam to seam, is known as carvel construction.[2]"(wikipedia)

I ended up with translation because I love knowledge and how to transmit it. It is also easy to do this job freelance. I have a dream of living in an ecovillage one day, this job will make it possible for me to do just that. It also gives me the freedom to try a lot of different professions. Most people in the modern world lack a sense of community or belonging, this is one of the major reasons why people suffer today. An ecovillage is one solution to this problem. I also believe that in the near future because of various resource scarcities it will be a big advantage to be as self-sufficient as possible. I have made a thread about this here if you want to read:
http://forum.socialmatter.net/discussion/96/peak-oil#latest

I view myself as a deep thinker and if I move to a very cheap place in the country I will not have to work all the time, this I see as a great advantage. Now I don't know where I will end up, but in a way I see it as a good thing that my life is open when it comes to different possibilities in the future. Three years ago I also found a groundbreaking spiritual truth that completed changed my life, maybe I will write about this in a later blog.

Sort:  

Good to have you here!

It's great that you've found Steemit. Constructive discourse and differences of opinion are all welcome. Bullying is not. I believe you will be among friends here :)

Welcome to Steemit.

I'd love to visit Norway some time, but brrrr cold.

it is warm in the summertime at least!

Velkommen! Er noen nordmenn her allerede, clains og meg i hvert fall :)

Where in Norway are you living now? I'm in Stavanger myself, clains is in Oslo.

takk!

I am living at the moment in Bergen, I am planning on moving to Kristiansand. It is cool to see some other Norwegians here :).

Velkommen :)

Welcome to steemit

Hi Sindre, welcome to Steemit!

I had never heard of clinker boats, but now I know what they are, thanks!

Three years ago I also found a groundbreaking spiritual truth that completed changed my life, maybe I will write about this in a later blog.

I think people would like to read about this; I know I would like to read it!

Best wishes and have fun here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48