An Introduction to Serenity Valley Farms Permaculture Homestead

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

                                               A Permaculture Homestead  

We have been on Steemit now for about 3 or 4 weeks trying to learn the in's and out's of the Steemit platform and though this was a good time to formally introduce ourselves!  

My Wife Colleen and I would like to give you all some insight into what we are  now and what we want to be as time goes on.  If I had to describe us I  would say we are Christians, Permaculture enthusiasts, Dirt Loving Gardeners, Master Canners, self-sufficient wannabes, cooking creators,  and just good country folk!  Wow, that’s a mouth full and I am sure it  will evolve as time goes on except that good Christian country folk part. 

 Serenity Valley Farms encompasses 50  acres, 15 of those acres are comprised of pasture, the homestead and a  rental home.  The other 35 acres are woods.  We are at an elevation of  about 2,200 feet above sea level in what I would call the foothills of  the Appalachian Mountains.   Folks here like to say these are mountains, but I have spent a lot of  time in the Rockies and in my mind these are just hills.  

 The  drive from town is a rolling, winding road with photo perfect views of  the hills, farms and forest.  Every time I pass the "Cow Rock", someone has painted a rock to look like a cow it just makes you smile.  A mile down the  road from the painted cow you get to our drive that is lined with  flowing pear trees with a couple small wood fenced pastures on each  side, you dip down a small hill then you come up to the log cabin we  live in. 

 We have a large barn which is set for  horses and outdoor fenced in arena which is now our test garden and  winter home for our chickens.  The folks we bought this property from  had all the creature comforts heating and air conditioning and a 20’ X  40’ swimming pool!  The pool is nice but it is a lot of work and we are not big on chemicals and a pool is a chemical eating  machine. Funny thing is we opened the pool this year but we have not gotten in it, just to many things to do!

What we have is a great start for the dreams we have to be more self-sufficient.  

My Wife is disabled with a blood disorder and I am a cancer survivor, I was diagnosed in October of 2015 and I am finally cancer free now!  I was a hard time, but we pulled through.  Things move slower now but that's OK!  Living in Southern Kentucky is a much slower pace of life so it fits perfectly.

So even with the health issues I had  early in the year we did get our test garden in, we thought we were  pretty good gardeners, but I guess gardening in 4’ of the richest  topsoil you will ever see is quite a bit different than red clay we have  here.  Look for a blog on our garden adventure coming soon.  We also  put in a water capture system on the barn and piped it down to the  garden and we are able to collect rain water for watering rather than  the county water that is full of chlorine. 

When I was sick I had a lot time to do research and I  started studying permaculture and soon got Colleen hooked on it as  well.  My background is in surveying and engineering, but I had never  heard of these concepts I felt and still feel drawn to them. Homesteading and permaculture is a way of life, most folks think its about working hard and yes it is hard work, but hard work makes you work smarter, the smarter you get the easier the work is.  A Permaculture system if properly set up will run itself after a period of time.

What is next for us?

We have accomplished much, but there is still much to do and we look forward to bringing you guys along for the ride. We will be sharing blog posts and videos of our journey.  We will post not only about homesteading and permaculture, but so many other this that interest us. Look for posts on the following:

  • Hay bale Gardening
  • Aquiponics
  • Food Preservation
  • Hunting
  • and much more! 

What do we want out of Steemit?

We have been apart of the Steemit community for about three or four weeks now, and all I can say is WOW! the response we have received has been positive and the Homestead community is growing by the day.  There is also the monetary aspect, it can be hard to get some projects up and going, farming / homesteading costs money and we hope this will help us in our journey!

We have a lot to learn, I did not even really know what a block-chain or crypto currency was a month ago, there is a whole new world to explore and we are having a lot fun doing it!  Thanks to everyone that has followed & up-voted us, we really appreciate it!

Welcome to Serenity Valley Farms!

Bob & Colleen Browning part of the Steemit community since May of 2017


Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @svfarms I have sent you a tip

Thanks, that grreat

Wow! It sounds like you have a lot going on. I too am interested in many of the topics you mentioned above (aquaponics and raising natural food). I am looking forward to your future posts! Welcome to the community.

It is a lot.... I can be hard work as well, but there is something really rewarding about it. Last night for dinner everything on out plat was grown or raised by us! Chicken, fresh from the garden Zucchini & peas.

Thats really awesome! My family and I have been constantly moving toward complete self-sufficiency. Our goal is to grow/raise just about everything we eat, similar to what you guys are doing.

Best of luck! I will be looking for updates on your journey...

Awesome to see y'all here! Welcome to an amazing community. Looking forward to learning more about your journey. I did some small scale aquaponics on my urban farm when I lived in Austin, now I'm on 11 acres in North Carolina and excited to finally put down some roots, plant some fruit trees and start a propagation nursery. Onward and upward! Just followed ya.

Sounds like you hit the ground running! How did your aquaponics turn out? Do you plan to do a larger scale version now the you have more room?

I started with an IBC tote system and then added 2 more systems from used hydro gear. Then I added one more IBC tote system last. They were quite successful though some plants seemed to do better than others. Lettuce, celery and other greens did great. It was a great learning experience but certainly takes a good bit of time and energy to maintain.

On our new property, I'm thinking long term so first want to get ponds and earthworks figured out, then get fruit trees and perennials planted, and from there I'll have more time for projects that need upkeep.

All the best and stay in touch! If I can offer any advice, I'd love to. Onward and upward!

That's a great plan, well thought out..... You have taken into account many permaculture items right up front were they should be! Best of luck, I will definitely be reaching out when I get started on my larger scale aquiponics system.

Awesome! Stay in touch for sure!

Your pictures have not been uploaded properly, darn I was looking forward to seeing your homestead.

Unfortunately the internet is slow out here in the sticks.... It takes a few minutes for it all to load. hope you can try again later!

Looks like fun! There are many family farms here in Bavaria as well!

It is fun, a great life style!

Glad to have you on this amazing platform. I look forward to your posts.
I share yummy recipes and health-related articles, so feel free to follow @GLOBALFOODBOOK for instant updates. Best regards.

Welcome fellow homesteader! I think Steemit is quickly becoming a great platform for families who want to homestead, yet need supplemental income to help get started. Looking forward to seeing your progress!

Thanks, I agree!

Wow! Your homestead is positively gorgeous!!

Permaculture is a real intricate beast isn't it?! I have my Permaculture certificate through OSU's PDC course (totally recommend if you're interested).

But, it's kind of daunting when you've got so much to work with!

Looking forward to your posts!

We are big fans of Jeoff Lawton from the permiculture institute. We need to take a PDC, I will look into OSU's program. Thanks for the advice.

Of course!! :)

Beautiful property, welcome from an Aussie follower.

Thank you, I hope to make it over there before i die!

It's a great and beautiful country so you must add it to the top 5 on the list of places to visit, I hope to visit the USA and have made it to Hawaii and just loved it there.

Good to have you here. People like you are a testament for true love for nature and eachother, while being self-sufficient. I'll be following you.

I could ask for nothing more, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15