You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having A Son With Down Syndrome - An Introduction To Aiden

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Very inspirational article. I am a geriatric nurse for handicapped people and try my best to gain some publicity on the topic of disability. I also work with 2 down syndrome people on my group and aim for exposing the differences between "normal" and "handicapped" (both are stupid terms) are really marginal. Let`s make inclusion a visibile topic on steemit for the greater good of us all.

Maybe you are interested in my stories I shared on this topic : https://steemit.com/disability/@supermeatboy/working-in-a-home-for-the-mentally-handicapped-part-two

Sort:  

Thanks for being there for people who need the help. Yes the term down syndrome is a bit misleading especially when it comes the word Down which was a persons name. I personally like Trisomy 21 as a better term since it does not lead people to think the word Down is an indication of the disposition of a person. Thanks for your share.

I'll be following you for sure, as I love to read stories about people overcoming challenges. At one time, I was planning on becoming a special education teacher, and I've volunteered in a lot of schools, groups, etc. and have been blessed by the people who live with challenges abut are so positive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43