Hello Steemit! Steven here with an introductory post

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone on Steemit. I signed up about a week ago and i'm happy to be part of a growing community. Allow me to introduce myself, as this is my very first post.

Here is a picture of me. I found this while browsing through a stash of pictures in my google drive :D Sorry if the picture is a little huge >.< i'm new to this.

I was introduced to Steemit by @branlee87. We were talking about cryptocurrency and that's when he mentioned Steemit to me. It is a great platform to share your knowledge, experience and be rewarded. A special thanks to him for introducing me.

My name is Steven, 31 years old (2018), from Malaysia (peninsular). A beautiful tropical country sandwiched between Singapore and Thailand. I speak English, Malay, a little Cantonese, a little Mandarin, and a little Hokkien.  I am engaged, and had been working in a factory environment providing failure analysis and data support for 7 years. I'm recently unemployed and about to migrate to Australia in 6 days time from the writing of this post :)

My hobbies include:

1. Gaming (top of the list)

The earliest and happiest memories I had since my childhood (kindergarten) involved gaming. I remembered the very first game I played was Donkey Kong, it was in a standalone handheld device that runs on 2 button sized lithium-ion batteries. I remembered months after playing it, I dismantled the handheld device and messed around with the electronic circuit just to see what kind of reaction/glitches the game would produce. Unfortunately I destroyed the device in the process and got a good scolding from my dad (maybe spanking? can't remember). Later on in primary school, I got my hands on the legendary SNES. Ohh boy the memories.. Zelda: a Link to the Past, Super Street Fighter 2, Mortal Kombat 2, Final Fantasy 6, Super Metroid, Lufia 2, Secret of Mana just to name a few. During secondary school, the games I played was Counter-Strike, Serious Sam, Red Alert 2, Warcraft 3, Ragnarok Online. Now I am playing mostly on my PC Steam and PS4. Beyond 2 Souls, Heavy Rain, Life is Strange, Modern Warfare 3 Multiplayer, Borderlands just to name a few. By the way, the picture above is Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus :P

2. Anime

I don't remember when I started watching and got into Anime, perhaps it was around post secondary school. I typically watch when my mind is too tired for gaming, which normally happens during workdays. My preference could change from time to time, meaning this month I like action and supernatural genre, but next month maybe I like romance and feels.

3. Reading Motivational Stuffs

I have to admit that a few years back, I was suffering from some form of depression. I do not know when it all started, but the experience was painful. I would constantly think in a negative way, like nothing good would happen in my life, I would keep asking why is this happening to me, I would shut myself out from the world, social activity is a drag and unnecessary. And then along something happened (sorry I don't want to mention what it is) and made me want to kill myself. I thought of some painless ways to die, and I figured maybe if I drink myself to death, it would be less painful. After all, I will just pass out and never to wake up again. I waited until my parents went out for dinner, and then I chuck a bottle of red wine in 30 mins time. Fortunately I just passed out from that and had a few times of vomiting. The experience of that vomiting was.. well.. it's as if you could easily obtain 6 packs of abs from 1 pack in a few minutes. It got my parents really worried as well, and from that experience, I had a realization, why am I doing this to myself and my beloved family? I started searching for a way out, and I found the answer. Thanks again to @branlee  for introducing me to a life coach expert Tony Robbins. I started watching his videos and eventually bought his books. From then, I felt like I gave myself a total makeover and now living a positive life :) A few key advise (credit to Tony Robbins) that changed me was:

  1. Life do not happen to you, it happens for you.
  2. People overestimate what they could achieve in a year, but they underestimate what they could achieve in a decade.
  3. Be grateful for the things that happened in your life, and your fear and anger will dissipate.

Above 3 points was an oversimplification of what is written in his book "Awaken the Giant Within". If you are interested in mastering your thoughts and emotions, do give this book a try.

4. Fitness and Health


Source

A great way to generate positive emotion is through physical activity. As the word emotion contains the word motion. I typically enter the gym twice a week. Besides that, I also jog in a park close to my home in the weekends.  Even with these physical activities, i'm still diagnosed with high cholesterol during my annual physical checkup >.< I guess that's what you get for living in Malaysia where foods are abundant and delicious :D

5. Travel

I haven't been to many places, the one's I have been to are Indonesia, Singapore, China, and Thailand. I did not go crazy all over the world as I am saving money for migration to Australia :D however my dreams of moving to the land down under became reality in 2017 as I was granted PR by Australia :) So in the coming posts, they will be centered around Melbourne, Australia.


Well, this is it ladies and gentlemen, my introductory post ends here as I do not want to bore you with the details of my life. I imagined the coming posts from me would be (not in particular order):

  • What are the pros and cons of moving to Australia
  • What are the steps needed to apply for a PR in Australia (for an Engineer), and my experience going through those hassles.
  • Explanation on how to use the train/tram network in Melbourne. <- This one will take some time, as I will learn along the way after I arrive in Melbourne on Jan 11 :)

I will end this post with another lesser hobby of mine, that's taking picture with my GF with our stupid faces >D


Sort:  

Welcome to the steemit community Hope you like the new platform All the Best!

thanks man ! :D
nice to meet you.

Nice to meet you too!

Hey. Welcome to STEEMIT! it is a rapidly developing platform. I'm also new!))

hey d-stepnoy! welcome to Steemit :D

Excellent post, bro!

Very well written and very honest!

Glad to have you on-board!

thanks bran !!

HAAAAAAIIIIIIIII!!!!!! WELCOME TO STEEEMITTTT

Hello !! thanks :D

Hello, a warm Steemit welcome to you!

Stay active on the site and follow, upvote and comment on other post.

There are also a lot of tools you can use that are helpful and you can find them at http://steemtools.com and find some you like.

If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask. Have fun!

Hello ! thanks :D will do :)

Welcome Steven! I saw the senran kagura picture followed by your post about kindergarten and had a slight shock haha. Hope you get comfortable in steemit and post more good stuff! :)

Thanks siren :D I will continue posting and support each other.

Hi @stevenguan! Welcome to steemit! U do have quite a variety of hobbies. I like this quotes "Life do not happen to you, it happens for you" very much, its motivating! Hope to see more posts from you in future.

Hi and thanks @jiafui :)
Those hobbis accumulate over time hahaha ;)

welcome to steemit! good stuff you've got there. keep blogging! :)

This is an impressive intro. It makes me want to up my game. I have only been on #steemit for a few minutes and already feel like it's going to be fun. This is such a completely different experience from Facebook. I think you are doing it right.

Thanks lahvista :D let's help make #steemit community a great place.
Agree it is completely different to Facebook, here we can share our knowledge/experiences without the limitations with Facebook posts :)
Hope you have a great experience on #steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67402.68
ETH 3481.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65