A Steemydave Introduction

Hello all!! My names Dave and this is my introductory post.

I was turned on to the Steemit community a few months ago when my fiance @kaelci raved about how fantastic it was. Said that I should join and start writing myself, but I always seemed to chicken out at the last moment and never get around to it. Well, no more!!

I plan on joining in on the gardening and landscape topics as that is what I do for a living, and because expressing my creativity by transforming a space into a beautiful garden has been my deepest and most satisfying passion.

As I write this I'm currently sitting on comfortable picnic bench in a botanical garden in the heart of Brisbane. Dappled afternoon sunlight casts hypnotic patterns of shadow across my field of view, while simultaneously backlighting and setting aglow rows of luscious, tropical purple and pink Cordyline. Off in the distance I can hear a waterfall and a Cookabura laughing somewhere. A cool breeze intermittently wafts the fresh scent of the nearby pond and its waterlilies past me. A persistent piebold colored Ibis wanders near my feet searching for a treat getting ever closer to sampling my shoelace.

Later today i plan on starting a post cataloging the spectacular tropical blooms I've managed to take photos of while here. Describing each blossom and why they tickle my fancy to the reader.

If i can be candid for a moment I should tell you a secret. The real reason I'm here writing on Steemit. My fiance is a wonderful writer. It's her passion and life's work. She holds Steemit and the art of writing very dear. I, on the other hand, am a amateur writer with not even a crumb of talent. However, I also must spend months on end away from her and our modest home to work. My hope is that by me being on Steemit, partaking in my partners passion, I can connect with her on a deeper level and understand her more than I could with simple phone calls while separated by 10,000 miles of ocean. I can escape briefly into a world she's created and in exchange she can skip merrily through adventures I write here too. So that although were far apart, we can connect in more ways than one.

I have a few other goals here at Steemit. For instance, I spend half my time in the bountiful hinterlands of Queensland, Australia. I'd love to one day make it as a member of @teamaustralia and add my experiences there to help color in their already vibrant roster of members.

I'm even going to try my hand at writing Fiction. No guarantees any of it will be readable but I'm going to try anyways. To balance things out I plan to tell stories of trips to strange and far off places around the world that I've been on and other more curious events that have left me mystified despite my best efforts to understand them.

Anyways, that should about do it for introductions. I better get writing. Hope to see and befriend like minded folks in my future endeavors here in the Steemit community.

Best,

Steemydave

Sort:  

Hello steemydave! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to the Steemit World!

thank you!! i like it here!

Woohoo go fiancé of @kaelci she’s cool! Welcome and look forward to your content

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes shes amazing! Thank You for the welcome. i look forward to writting more here and will be checking out all of you guys too

Such beautiful sentiment and motivation behind your steemit calling! I am definitely looking forward to reading more of your writing in the future.

thank you. im thinki g im really going to enjoy pouring myself into Steemit and its community

Welcome to steemit. You can join Team Australia since you live here. Check out this post for details.
https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-25-07-18-am-i-back-from-my-hiatus

Basically I just need a fun fact, vote for ausbitbank, and tell me where you live. Is it Cairns or Bundy or something? Are you from the US? I forget what @kaelci said about you in her intro.

@choogirl - I made myself proxy for witnesses when I made his account, does that count for the ausbitbank vote or should I un-proxy myself and vote them all separately?

Yeah that's fine. Just need the fun fact and where you live now.

hi Choogirl! Thank You for responding to my post!

I live with Kaelci in Kingaroy, Queensland. just up the D'Aguilar highway in South Burnett region.

Fun facts...Lets see. I have seen a UFO before. Um.....I once drove a car off a cliff on accident and walked away without a scratch. I got a lot of crazy facts about me. Will probably make some good posts in the future about them.

Thank You again!!

Welcome aboard, I'd say you are being modest about your writing talent, brought me back to Brisbane for a moment. If I only new what Cordyline is : )

Dappled afternoon sunlight casts hypnotic patterns of shadow across my field of view, while simultaneously backlighting and setting aglow rows of luscious, tropical purple and pink Cordyline.

yeah brisbane is beautiful. youve definitly seen cordyline before. they have big fuscia and redish purple leaves. very tropical looking. ill see if i can find a decent pic to include in a forthcoming flower related post showcasing the photos of blossoms ive taken around queensland.

but yeah, i love brisbane. went to Queens Street mall today. ate at a place called The Death Star Canteen. pretty awesome

Welcome to steem family,stay connected @patonfire

Thank You. Ill look into how to best develop connections and friends here on Steemit.

Thank You happy to be here

I wish you will touch your dream. Please Votes my post

I hope so too. Thank you for the greetings

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18