100% Mom, Navy Sailor, and now Steemian! @jerrybanfield introduced me via mashable.com

I'm a native Californian living in Hawaii. I have a circle of a few friends that I consider family. As they say family isn't always blood. I will be posting about insights that arise in my life being a military tech student(Navy), a new mom, and my journey trying to achieve a flow and organization in my life. Really just a way of simplifying life to achieve balance and happiness and cutting out all the noise. I don't believe everything I see and hear so I love coming across content where people put in thoughtful and researched comments that can open up other perspectives. I believe you can tell so much about a person by just understanding what motivates their actions. I will repost anything I come across that helps me because maybe it will help someone else.

Because there are only 24 hours in a day I have had to focus and zoom in on "What exactly is important to me?" "What is so important I am willing to sacrifice my time, my health, my family?". Ill go into more depth on this in later discussions but for now just know there were a few milestones along the way that led me to question this time I was taking for granted.
So many life lessons between June 9, 2016 (the day my daughter was born):
20160625_075719.jpg

All the way back to December 12, 2006 (the day I joined the military)
DSC00623.JPG
CIMG0096.JPG
It took 10 long years to get it together (what can I say Im hard headed)

So my typical day goes something like: wake up early(before child) -juggle in writing a Steem intro, some studying, or anything I really want to do. Go to work where I sneek in WhatsApp Video Chats with the baby:
Screenshot_20171013-144729.png
More Steem browsing - under the guise of "Work". Feel the eerie presence of the boss man carefully trying to look over my shoulder, through my privacy screen, to see what Im working on. I ask boss man a question about work to make it appear that indeed I am working on "Work". Turn back around and repeat the cycle until I go home to the baby.

Now you might say something has to give- you cant continue on with that insanity forever. And this is true. I told myself EVERYDAY "How the hell can I get out of this job that I HATE". I cant quit I have a baby now and need the money. So I began looking for other options. I decided I needed to downsize so I started getting rid of all the extras in my life that were costing me time and money. I applied for my Masters degree - and after not allowing 3 years of rejection to get me down I can announce March 2018 I become a full time student at the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterrey.
acceptance.jpg

I followed the link on mashable.com to a post by @jerrybanfield detailing the whole Steemit process. I was a bit overwhelmed but I liked what I saw and loved that there is an outlet where my dreams wont get crushed everyday for the sake of "Being realistic". So I set up my account (and after a LONG 2 week wait for approval) I was in.
approval.jpg

I am now here for the journey. I love the idea of sharing and becoming part of a community with so many diverse views. I am not on any other social media-(mainly because I had to be super selective with my time and this is the platform I chose)
Im interested in contributing and motivated to see this platform grow- the extra prospect of actually hosting a witness and in turn having a stake in the communities success had me SOLD. Although I am just starting out as I become more adept at the platform I definitely plan on converting as many as I can in class to join me!
I would like to thank @cryptos @teamsteem @allasyummyfood for providing me content that helped me create this first post. It was kinda confusing but their posts made me stick with it and get it done!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @steemlined! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you @newsteemians. I was having a couple issues posting with my private key. Lots of timing out but Ill just be more patient with it in the future

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!
Also if there are any questions that you may have, you can reach me at http://steemit.chat . My username is the same over there, i.e., arthestically

Have fun and I am wishing you LOADS of success on here! <3

Regards
@arthestically

WoW! This was very interesting and unique. Looks like your new like me and this platform is so COOL!

Hi @kylo! I am definitely new. Hopefully you can help me out along the way. Talk to you soon!


Photo found by unsplash

Hello! Good day and a warm welcome from Philippines hugs. I wish you would enjoy steemit a lot. We also wish to hear a lot from you about what you do, wish to do, and some other things about you because you seem to have an interesting job (you as a sailor).

Hi @gailbelga! Thank you for the hugs! Here in Hawaii we have a big Filipino culture. My old roomate Marvin Mateo hails from the Philippines also. Ill definitely be sharing everything I can.

Thank you ♡

Love the creativity! best wishes.

Hi...
I Have Upvoted You,

Please upvote follow and resteem my post each time ,
I will do the same...

"be happy and allow me to be happy."

thanks,

@rka

This was a great post. Your daughter is really very cute. :) Thanks for sharing this awesome post. Have fun Steeming.

Hi @firepower. Thanks for reading. I plan on setting up my chat next. I get alot of timeouts when I try and post these replies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71