Hello Steemit! - Irrigation Engineer, Agronomist and Researcher from Uganda, East Africa is HERE!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hola Engineers! Hola Scientists? Hola Artists! Hola Irrigation Engineers out here? I have come, glad and excited to join you all with the whole of of my Heart.

A. Who am I? /Where am I from?


My name is Anoch. I am from Uganda, an East African country, Winston Churchill, former US statesman famously christened: The Pearl of Africa.

I am 29 years old, dark skinned –actually as dark as two nights combined! - No offense, no qualms! I am proud. I am the second born of a family of 6 siblings, and a Mukiga by tribe, from Western Uganda.

"


B. My profession, occupation and hobbies


By profession, I am an Irrigation Professional and practitioner, having graduated in 2013 from Busitema University in Uganda, with a Bachelor of Agricultural Mechanization and Irrigation Engineering.

I am also a practicing agronomist, having completed a one year industrial training exercise, majoring in agronomy in Israel in the Year 2014.


By occupation, I am one of the three (3) founding members, and now the Managing Director of Adritex Uganda Limited, Uganda’s leading Irrigation Company with Headquarters in the city of Kampala.

The Company also has a branch office in the greater Kampala area and an upcountry branch office in the Western District of Mbarara.

As a company, we do irrigation system design, installation and management. We also do landscape irrigation, borehole drilling, solar energy systems and water treatment.

Additionally, the company runs several field demonstration and research stations wherein we test-run and demonstrate different irrigation technologies, on small-holder and commercial scale.

Our goal is to adapt various irrigation systems to local conditions and farming psyche for adoption of locals in Uganda and the greater East Africa.

Field Demonstration of drip irrigation systems by Adritex Team


C. My Hobbies

I love football, especially the English Premier League. I support Arsenal FC (since 2004 when it went unbeaten!!). I also practice wood ball and volleyball.


D. Why Steemit Now?

The company has a website (www.adritexug.com), where we upload much of the technical works that the company is engaged in.

However I feel Steemit provides an organic platform where I can share my personal experiences and knowledge with as wide an audience as no website can ever reach.

It is amazing what I have learnt in the last seven days, ever since I came across a You-Tube Video of Jerry Banfield talking about Steemit. For the last seven days, I took time to read about it, and to know as much as I could.

And I cannot say enough about its sense of community, and its potential to facilitate the sharing of information and knowledge.


E. What I will be posting

Mostly I will share my academic knowledge and occupational experiences on irrigation technology, on agronomy, including the field practice of growing tomatoes, onions, pepper and other vegetables.

Overall, I will be posting on general agricultural works.

I will be designing simple irrigation systems, sharing written lessons and making videos on how you can design your own at home for small scale or large scale, including how to landscape you compound.

Overall, I hope that in these days of climate change, I will be able to use Steemit to reach a wider audience of people who need knowledge on sustainable agricultural systems that protect rather than destroy our eco-system.


F. My Final words

I wish to make as many friends as possible, across worlds of both Science and Arts here at steemit.

I am a likable character, easy going and open to correction. I will especially require much of these in these early days of my Steemit Journey, and I welcome all rebuke and correction.


Hugs from my family


I Hope this introduction tells at least 75% of who i am and what i am bringing to Steemit.
I am glad to join the community. Let's STEEMit all ye Scientists, Engineers, Artists....

Sort:  

welcome to steemit steemitseed and enjoy stay here .

I am excited. Thanks for the warm welcome

Welcome to steemit @steemitseed. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Thanks a lot for welcoming me, and guiding me as well.

Loading...

Hola, estoy iniciando en steemit y es el primer post que leo, igualmente son Ingeniero Agrónomo y en estos últimos años me he especializado en el área de riego y drenaje. Me gustaría seguir tus publicaciones en relación a experiencias laborales.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42