Music Producer That Has Worked With Grammy Award Winners/Nominees ALREADY on Steemit!!!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender13c4798.jpg

Hi Steemians! This Is M5, ...aka steemit-life. I have been on steemit for a few weeks now. And I must say that I am blown-away!!! This new platform for social media will disrupt Facebook, Youtube, Twitter, and Reddit, as well as many other well known mediums. You actually get paid for posting, upvoting, and commenting. That’s crazy! Lol But, I delayed my Intro because I wanted to get a first hand feel of this site. And I have to say that this community has been nothing short of phenominal since I’ve first joined. (Big thanks to @craiggrant for telling me about steemit on Youtube) I have had a definite love of cryptocurrency ever since 2013. Even though I knew about Bitcoin back in 2011 when It was $1 dollar! Needless to say I didn’t buy It back then because it was mostly used to buy drugs. So I passed on it. And It wasn’t the Bitcoin we know of today. People just used it to send back and forth. I wasn’t Impressed. So I went back to Investing In Silver, and Gold. (One of my BIGGEST regrets in life was not buying it but, what cha gonna do, right!?? Lol So anyways here Is a little about me that some of my friends on here might already know. But, most of you don’t. So here goes!

(Me at 5 years old:)

The Gift

At the age of two and a half, I started playing the drums. My parents told me that my feet couldn’t even reach the drum pedals! But, I had perfect rhythm with my drumsticks hitting the drum toms for my age. My parents had formed a church choir with all my other relatives. We’d go around the Northern parts of VA, singing and playing for all types of venues. I learned how to play from my Dad. He played the drums, piano, bass guitar, sang, and was a choir director. Watching, and travelling with him taught me discipline, loyalty, and hard work. It also showed me that music was more than just notes. It’s about relationships, and dealing with different personalities. (Much like life:) Little did I know at that time the Impact It would have on my musical journey. My Mom also taught me about how to listen. Her, and my Dad made a great team. She would write out all the lyrics to the songs, and learn the parts for the others to sing. You have to remember that this was Pre-Internet. So Instead of going to a website to get the lyrics, you had to sit and listen to each and every song! Lol Boy how times have changed:) But, that also taught me how to listen, and be patient. (Again, much like life…starting to see a pattern yet?:)
FullSizeRender9ba075.jpg

The Obsession

So In sixth grade, I played the trumpet. This was a very intricate part of my musical experience. I learned notes, scales, chords, harmonies, and playing together. Much of what I still use today! So pay attention In school kids! Then at the age of twelve, I started to pick up on the guitar, piano, and bass. I took the theory that I learned In sixth grade on the trumpet, and applied it to those instruments. But, it was more than just a hobby. Right after school, I would finish up my homework quickly, and play until the early morning. A lot of times I would even be tired sitting In class. In the Summertime, I would lock myself In my room for 10-15 hours a day. Listening, and learning songs by ear. (Without sheet music.) I would listen to Michael Jackson, Prince, Stevie Wonder, Joe Satriani, Tony Macalpine (Who btw Is diagnosed with colon cancer…Keep fighting Tony!) Basically anything I could get my hands on. I used the same techniques that my parents used earlier on. I guess you could say I was obsessed. I say that It was a deep passion!

FullSizeRender78bcfb.jpg

From Then to Now

Around 15yrs old, I started making beats, producing, and starting groups. Rock, R and B, Pop, Gospel…list went on. And ever since then, I’ve been doing just that! I calculate that In over 20 years of production, I’ve probably worked with 1000’s of groups, singers, artist, and songwriters combined! And I love every minute of It:) I’ve also been blessed to have worked with many Grammy award winning artists, and nominees. I’ve scored music on videos. I’ve even been on the Billboard charts with Wayna’s song “My Love.” It was a song that we did together back In 2008 that focused on the seriousness of domestic violence. Still one of my favorites to date! So please check out the video below.
So I’ve made a list of SOME of the artist that I’ve produced, played beside, song-written for, or toured with. (In no specific order)
FullSizeRender6d9d5e.jpg
(Kirk Whalum second to right with Dark Horse Studios with staff and Rob Maletick on far right. That's me on the far left:)

  1. Kirk Whalum- Grammy Award Winner/Nominee…He’s worked with Whitney Houston, Luther Vandross, Babyface, Donnie Hathaway, Layla Hathaway, Dave Coz, Norman Brown etc…
  2. Paul Jackson Jr.- He’s worked with Michael Jackson (Thriller, Bad, and Dangerous Albums) Whitney Houston, Chicago, Temptations, Ricky Minor, American Idol Band, Tonight Show with Jay Leno etc…
  3. Wayna- Grammy Nominee, Billboards
  4. Albert Phillips and the Divine Messengers- Grammy Nominees
  5. Bolton Brothers- Stellar Awards Nominees
  6. John P Kee- GMWA Awards, Stellar Awards
  7. Timothy Wright- Grammy Nominee
  8. Mississippi Mass Choir- Grammy Nominees, Stellar Awards
  9. Hezekiah Walker- Grammy Award Winners
  10. Rob Maletick
  11. Youthful Spirits
  12. Jonah Brockman
  13. Dai One
  14. Keenan Ivor
  15. Niqqi Worldwide
  16. James Mckinney
  17. Kev O
  18. Mickey Slade
  19. Lancer Clark
  20. Diffrence
  21. Cynthia Lissette
  22. Dante Thomas
  23. NOVA Mass Choir
  24. Rumi
  25. Marcus Johnson- NAACP Image Award Nominee, Wammies Nominee, Samuel A Haley Award
  26. & many, many more!!!

FullSizeRender10c33b1.jpg
(Playing Live)

FullSizeRender8ecc0f.jpg
(Marcus Johnson and staff)

FullSizeRender1128b2a.jpg
(Playing the Bass)

WaynawithStevie26488.jpg
(Grammy Nominee Wayna on tour with Grammy Award Winner Stevie Wonder:)


(My song with Wayna that was on the Billboard Charts...It was about "Domestic Violence")

IMG_7966c47aa.jpg
(Me and my girlfriend...I told her about steemit, and she loves it! You may have seen her on steemit...She Is @sgnsteems Check out her blogs...She will teach you how to save money!!!)

Also can't forget about my son and my girlfriends daughter, who I consider my own:), They are my pride and joy! Well at least I hope the community has a little better Idea of who I am. I will continue to be on steemit. Posting, upvoting, and commenting with the community. Thanks for taking the time to read my Introduction. & welcome to the steemi-life:)

Sort:  

Welcome and thanks for sharing a little about yourself.

No problem! I know alot of other musicians In the Industry...& they could definitely benefit from this platform...Thanks:)

How do you feel about tuning lower, to 432Hz? Made me come back to music again.. because it sounded really right for the first time!

Hey @nutela ...Well it really depends on what you are trying to achieve sonically...It also depends on the type of music, style, genre, and context...If you are doing your own music, that will work great! But say you are playing music that is not your own project...The performer/producer/artist/ etc...might want you to stick to 440Hz...& this is based off of my own knowledge in the industry, so your experience might be altogether different...It's all about knowing when to be selfish, and when to be a team player...Recording your own solo project, you can be as selfish as you would like...Playing in a band with other musicians, not so much...It really is situational...But ultimately, there are NO rules in regards to creativity:) Thanks-

It's all about knowing when to be selfish, and when to be a team player

I feel you, yes. 432Hz has rather nice sonic qualities but instruments are surely build to sound best at 440Hz although not all, you could be lucky. As a matter of fact I wanted to buy a guitar for my daughter and it was already tuned almost exactly at 432Hz, no idea why. It was funny because I really liked the sound!

wellcome

Thanks very much Alona! Take care-

Thank you! The weather Is wonderful here! Lol

I am a musician too!
I play cello and piano , wish the best to you.
Good luck!!!

That's fantastic! Yes keep at it and don't give up adielush:) Best wishes to you as well...

Great introduction! Will you be sharing some of your awesome music? ;0)

Only If you are nice to me!!! Lol:p

welcome, awesome studio pics & soul music sound

Thank you so much! & thanks for taking the time to read it:) Have a great day!

WOW so amazing to have talented and great artists like you on Steemit! This is growing faster than I was expecting and I'm totally flabbergasted by it.

Wow!!! & Thank you very much:) Take care-

Hey, M5. Great to hear your story. Thanks.

Hey nealfox! Lol Thanks for taking time to read my journey:) Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44