First post and my introduction

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemit family! This is my first post. Don't be too harsh on me, k?

I'm Tari - by day a court stenographer and all other times, a wife, mom, and jack of all trades.

A little about me:
Professionally, I am a court reporter first and foremost. It's in my blood.
"What is a court stenographer?" I get that a lot.

We are those folks sitting at the front of the courtroom charged with taking down everything said in the room on our little steno machines. I have worked in this field for 26 years and it has been a blessing to me more than you can imagine. I dropped out of traditional college at 21 because nothing interested me. I wanted to get out and explore the world, so I did. I moved to LA and lived there for a few years. After a while of just wandering around, my parents gave me an ultimatum: either go back to college or go to work full time and MOVE OUT! I literally found court reporting back in the '80s when everything was advertised in the Yellow Pages. I saw the ad, went for a visit, and have been hooked ever since.

I plan to write a follow-up post explaining just what we do. For some folks, this is too boring to sit through and I wouldn't want to bore you. For others, it's fascinating and some may even be considering a career in it. For you, I will write a more in-depth post about the subject. :)

For now, this is what I THINK I look like up there in the front of the room:

court reporter confident retro.jpg

And here's how I REALLY look:

Tari in court 3 smaller size.png

And this is what I look like when people say the craziest S*&%!!:

Court Reporter SNL.png

These days I work full time at a local courthouse, have a teenager in the house, and LOVE my perfect husband. Yep, he's pretty much a perfect human being (at least in my eyes). Haha, see him laughing at the idea!

fdgstytey6w35y7654.JPG

~ My hobbies ~

Tari's hobbies.jpg

Well, here's a short list...

graphic design
Merch by Amazon t-shirt designer
content editing (for speakers of other languages who own an e-commerce store on an American platform) Visit: https://americancontentediting.blogspot.com/
proofreading (for fellow reporters)
e-commerce selling
Instagramming pics of my cat
investing
cooking
reading
exercise
FB'ing (it's a thing, and you know it!)
following beauty bloggers
following tech trends
play chess
admin a FB group for Etsy/Printful sellers
be involved with my church (singing in choir)
designing and then never building blow-your-mind inventions
studying the heck out of something and then getting deeply involved in it

Basically...I love to learn. My brain literally never stops. My husband is boggled why I can't just sit and read a book for hours on end, or work on a puzzle with him. I have to be going, doing, thinking, planning, organizing, strategizing SOMETHING!

Why am I here? Why Steemit?

dog tilted head.jpg

Why not?

One of my interests is cryptocurrency and a friend @reseller introduced me to this place. Steemit is a gold mine ready to be explored, unknown to many. Even though this is the end of 2017, Steemit has less than 300,000 users (according to my basic Google search).
I have been wanting to blog for a long time, but I really don't like the blogger sites. I want something VERY basic...and this is. There's not even a save draft button to come back later and finish a post! @dan you need to fix that!

My goal here is twofold, threefold, and...ah, forget it. I've got a lot I want to blog about. I want to share about the profession of court reporting, hopefully adding new colleagues to the profession; share about trends and information in the graphic design, proofreading, and content editing world; and blog about fashion trends. I just don't want to be tied down to one subject.

So that's me in a nutshell. I'm a quirky, inquisitive, techy, and fashion-conscious kinda gal.

Sort:  

Hey you! Glad you are here! Keep posting everyday! Don't forget to stop by my channel and make comments and upvote if you like the content!

Hi, Tari!

Good to find another person of the steno persuasion on here! I am a slow-moving student myself, but I think I will have to step it up quite a bit this year, because I'm not getting any younger!

Oh, and I run Cheap and Sleazy.

I know you, Cheap and Sleazy. We corresponded on the Compuserve CR forums when Jim Barker was around. So sad on his passing. Still can't believe it.

Yes, that was quite the loss to the community! He had a Facebook group which was pretty good, though some found him to be a bit gruff at times.

Have you been to the new CRF? If not, it's here -- more or less:

https://forumania.com/forum/crf

I can't say I'm wild about the new place. I couldn't recover my password, and it appears that most of the stuff that was supposed to have moved with the forum somehow didn't make it -- but that's based on a quick look. One of these days I'll stick around for more than a minute!

Welcome to Steem @steemhustle. Feel free to follow me @kanasite and upvote. Cheers :)

thank you. i appreciate the welcome. and I will!

Welcome beloved, steemit is a place for personalities such as you.

You'll do well here, I've up voted your introductory post.

Make friends and have fun.
I'm a friend @maxdevalue

thanks, @maxdevalue. I am hoping I can bring some feminine, quirky, fashion sense to Steemit. I see a lot of guys and tech talk.
If Steemit claims to be a blog site and wants to expand into subjects other than cryptocurrency, then they'll need folks like us. :)

Welcome to Steem @steemhustle! You have a very interesting job! I wish you the best of luck and pleasure in Steemit!

tx, @nsbachurin It is quite interesting. And there are some pretty whack people in this world that come through the courhouse. But I love it nonetheless. :)

Welcome to Steemit, you have been Followed!

tx, @ish58 I shall follow too!

Hey! I can definitely relate to you not wanting to stick to any one topic when it comes to blogging. I like blogging about anything and everything that interests me too. I'm sure your content will be nice so I gave you a follow. Have a lovely day! :)

tx, @emilyl i am excited about the prospects and followed you back. :)

Hey Tari I noticed you disappeared on sola so I will have to keep up with you here !! Lol have a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44