Introducing Myself - Christian, Cancer Mom, Important Person

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello from Michigan. I have lived in this state my entire life, and I’m approaching 40. For some of you that’s a long time and for others I’ve only started to live. In the winter, I wonder why I haven’t moved someplace warmer yet. In the summer, I don’t want to be anywhere else. So I guess for my introduction, I’ll tell you three things about myself, three things that made me who I am today.

#1 I am a Christian
Not popular to say in this day in age, but I cannot deny it. It started at a VBS (vacation bible school) when I was in elementary school. My family isn’t a Christian family, but I decided to follow Christ at a very young age. I don’t even remember the age, but I am thankful for my aunt and uncle for taking me to VBS. My faith has been my constant companion through all my life’s trials.

Valentine's Day 2010 photo casey_zpsnyr8wnub.jpg
#2 I am a Cancer Mom
It was my son’s second birthday when the official diagnosis came. We technically knew the day before, but it wasn’t official until his birthday, about 2 a.m. I, of course, was still in shock at that time. We were already talking about surgeries and chemotherapy for later that day. Less than 24 hours before that, we were planning a party with family who was up from Texas. A party that never happened.
Becoming a cancer mom teaches you so much about life. I suppose that I could write 100s of articles about what I learned that diagnosis. And I could write 100 more about what I learned when the cancer came back. Then I could write 100 more about what happened when the cancer came back one more time. But this is short introduction so let me tell you this – he survived because of a stem cell transplant. We learned to slow down and enjoy life. We learned to travel our own road because our story is different than anybody else’s and their road wouldn't be good for us. We learned to be thankful for the small things. We still are and he’s about to celebrate birthday 11.

#3 I am Done Putting Myself Last
Maybe that why I’m doing this. I haven’t taken care of myself. Yes, there has been excuses – my son had cancer, I’m a mom, I’m still young, I can do it later. But my first almost 40 years haven’t been as good as I hoped. I’m hoping to improve on my next almost 40 years. I’m going to be bolder. I’m going to make goals and achieve them. I’m going to dream and try to achieve my dreams. I am just as important as everyone else on my list.

That’s me summed up in a short list. I look forward to meeting many of you.

Sort:  

Good to hear. I look forward to getting more involved here.

you are welcome

Welcome to Steem! I am a fellow Michigander, though I now live in Colorado. Cheers to embracing a new outlook on life, and seizing the moment as much as possible.

I hope to go to Colorado someday. I want to go hiking there

Welcome to the community @stcraig. Nice to have you here with us.

If you write you can take part in the fifty word story contest, being run by @literature-trail for new Steemians for a chance to win big.

Thanks, I'll check into it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65