My biggest downfall as an artist is also my greatest strength.... ready for it??

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Ready or not... here I come!

So my biggest downfall as an artist is also one of my greatest strengths.... ready for it??
"Hello everyone. My name is Shelley and I am a perfectionist"

Yep. The mother of all double edged swords!
So on one hand the "p" word is my super power that drives me to make the most epic, tedious, awe inspiring art whether it be paintings, metalsmithing jewelry, drawings, woodworking, sewing, or beadwork. And on the other hand it's considered my four letter word. It stops me before I begin. Its the key that opens the pandoras box of excuses of why I'm not ready or don't have the proper supplies, or time, or energy, or space to do it in... I mean I could go on and on and on. But I feel slightly like more often than not that is all I've been doing, going on and on that is, and it hasn't gotten me very far.


(One of my metalsmithing custom orders...
Blue Star Sapphire with four 1.5 mm diamonds set in
sterling silver with 14ky accents all hand fabricated)

My goal for creating this steemit is to crack open out of my 'everything must be perfect before I can do anything with it' shell and use this rad new platform to just be raw and let you beautiful people see what I got! You'll get the sneak peaks of all of my projects and passions before they're all shiny and perfect and ready for galleries or websites. Before I 'have enough made to make it a cohesive collection' or 'have enough finished inventory'.
I'm hoping that this will help me get the ball rolling and possibly show myself that I am actually ready and actually capable and that I DO have what it takes to be a successful artist!

Admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery! Lets see if I'm ready or not...

Sort:  

What's your dream car?

Tesla model X

Without feelings of respect, what is there to distinguish men from beasts?

I like to get lost in another world - my body fused to the canvas in a mass outpouring of creation!!

Congratulations @stayvolo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @stayvolo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78