Hello Steemit! I would love to introduce myself to all your wonderful faces.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I often define who I am by what I am currently doing. Then again, I use my past experiences to explain my ways as well. When I meet new people, they do not get my full story right away. So it is fair that neither do you. :) I would say you are more than welcome to come visit me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/paulearlstagg. Here is my current profile image as well.25310971_10210892289008060_471188951706118870_o.jpg

If I am lucky enough to meet any of you in person I can sometimes blurt out the phrase: "I am Paul Stagg the fag, now you will never forget my name!" People tend to have that little nervous laugh but most people are shocked. I don't carry myself as a stereotypical gay man, so it is always fun to correct peoples biased views on what homosexuality is. Over the years I have developed a keen sense of who I am as a person. I can contribute this development to one event in my history.

It's story time people, so sit back and enjoy!

On November 13, 2009, I was at my computer in my student housing room at University at Buffalo (UB) when I received a text. It was my ex-girlfriend. Girlfriend!? WHAT?? Anyway. She tells me horrible news. In fact the most devastating news of my life. She tells me my friend John is dead. His name is NOT John, but that is the name I will be using. She tells me he was in car accident and was found dead at the scene. Truly the most unlucky Friday the 13th ever. I wasn't in the mindset to talk with her. Thanked her for telling me, and stopped messaging her. Soon after this my aunt calls me and tells me the same thing. Now I had to believe that it happened. John is dead. My secret love is dead.

For the first time in my life I truly felt alone. Someone that important to me has passed away and I couldn't tell anyone. Some of my family knew he was my friend but no one knew just how close he was to me. It's like someone locked me in my closet that I had been slowly creeping out of since 2006. My first semester at UB now seemed impossible to continue. I cared about no one. I cared about nothing. I cried every night for a little more than a year. It honestly felt good to. During that year though it was painfully clear I needed to tell someone. Since that moment I haven't looked back. I will always be honest about who I am. I don't want to be that alone ever again.

I choose this story to introduce myself in most situations. It is what defines me in this present day. The story of John and I goes far beyond that moment, as you could imagine. After that I lost more people I love. My Grandfather, my great uncle, my uncle, and my cousin. Cancer, diabetes, alcoholism, suicide respectively. My truth and my stories I hope inspire others or at the very least keep you company for a short time.

I always hope to be good listener, and to hopefully provide what was lacking in my life. As I now have reached 30 years old, I do not feel old. I still feel in my heart the day I saw John's smile. I still feel the the same way as my grandfather tried talking to me about the birds and the bees. I smile through it all. Who I am, I think, will always be defined by my stories. Because my stories help me connect with others. I have so many to share. I hope we can share our stories together.

Live long and prosper my new community of friends. :)

Sort:  

Welcome to your steemit brother, we're so glad you've joined us. please follow me and i will follow you back and do not forget to make next posting.

I've voted for you, please vote for my post too.

Thank you for welcoming me. I appreciate it. :)

Welcome to steem! Good story and good luck!

Thank you so much! I would love to hear your stories!

welcome! Glad to see a like minded person joining the platform. Live long and prosper!

Thank you! Glad to be here. I hope to find others like myself as well. Living out here in the woods doesn't present many opportunities. :)

P.S. what language are your posts? I would like to google translate and read them. :)

Welcome to steemit my friend. You should check out the #newbieresteemday here is a link to a bunch of contests they are sponsoring now. It is an easy way to get some currency to spend on the platform.

Thank you! I will take a gander. :)

Good job! Thanks to @royaleagle you have planted 0.07 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 18380.76. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64