Introduction

Hi there steemians,

My first day posting. I joined a few days ago. Reading all the fine print - I am like that.

I'm a Senior UNIX Professional since 1988. Today it is Linux, and automation using the tools of the trade, which will probably change tomorrow. It is such a fast paced world these days in technology.

I started looking at blockchain last year - about June. Still figuring out stuff. This is an exciting time - so much will change related to this technology - just like this social network platform.

My interests are varied, mostly related to my work and to the work of my wife. She's an artist and a writer, and she has allowed me to post some of her content, so you might see some bright colorful stuff from her world of creativity. I play chess - I am not a grand master, but I have been playing since I was eight. I can generally provide the average player a really good game. We love to garden for the birds and I am looking for a good camera to sit outside and collect outside photos of the 27 or so species that I have seen in our back yard - let me know if you know a good brand to get.

For now, I'll spend time looking around. I hope to find some great content related to my interests.

me2018.jpg

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit srunix! : )

Hey. Welcome. I'm also new. what do you think about Intel processors?

It's a pretty big deal to have an issue so deep in the interworking of the processor to cause such a breach of security. As a unix/linux enthusiast you trust separation as one of the core aspects of security and you don't expect the kernel to breach it and certainly not the chipset. It will be interesting to see where this goes, the impact and the potential exploits that will come from it.

what measures to take?

The only thing at the moment is to apply the kernel patches to the OS for all the devices, and when patches come out for IOS and android to apply those as well. I am assuming we will find out more as time goes on. It is still pretty new and more info will emerge about how it is or can be exploited. The chip architecture will take time to fix with new chip sets - and one of the recently announced issues affects not only intel but other manufacturers as well. I would say continue to read everything that comes out about it. If you happen to know anyone in the hacker community (white-hat hackers), you might see if they are posting info as well.

well, we'll wait. I updated windows and became less engaged in surfing

Welcome to steemit. You'll have no trouble finding tons of good content here.

Hello @srunix88! May I invite you to our weekly chess tournamant, we have a growing community here, 5+2 games for fun and some SBD.

https://steemit.com/chess/@schamangerbert/steem-blitz-chess-tournament-06-jan-2018-and-the-winner-is-full-video-commentary-by-schamangerbert

oh, that's awesome. I'll take a look.

Welcome to steemit my fellow chess player

Thanks. hope to see how to play on Steemit. I use the "Social Chess" app currently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86