Why I Stopped Plagiarizing & Shitposting

Hello steemians, I'm @sqamemal aka xXxDankMemeLordxXx.

I've been on steemit for well over four months now but had never done an intro post so decided to give it a try. However, this intro post is going to be quite different. I want to share my experience with the steemit platform that I've been exploiting to make money, in the form of steem.

source:https://www.orange.k12.nj.us/Page/15002

The not-so humble beginning:

When I first joined in March, I was looking for tags and topics that I can relate to so that I can post about them. I found the 'meme' tag and was really excited because that's one of the things I enjoy looking at and creating. My first few posts were just a meme with no context or additional caption. Those posts were getting a few upvotes but that was mostly by minnows like me. Some posts made 0.1 to 0.2 dollars in total, while most made nothing at all. I was disappointed, but did not give up. I tried exploring the community and other posts to find how other people increase their follower count, gain reputation and how their posts make a lot more money than mine did.

Finding a gold mine:

I found a post about the minnowsupport project and decided to make a discord account to avail its free upvotes. After using it a few times, I realized that I had found a gold mine. I would post a meme daily and make minnowsupportproject upvote it after a few hours. After 12 hours, I would then use the bot to upvote a low-effort comment I would make on a random post. That way, I was making almost 0.5 SBD and 0.5 SP everyday. I could not sustain this for long because once the summer break was over, college and assignments became of higher priority and I was only able to use the bot once daily.

Interacting with other steemians:

Because I had to comment at least once or twice a day so that I could use the msp bot to upvote it, I was unintentionally getting into conversations with great authors. Some of them would even upvote my replies which would result in an additional income of 0.1 - 0.7 SBD and SP (the prices were very similar 3 months ago). Eventually, I kinda felt guilty using msp to upvote those comments, to me it was a sign of disrespect towards the author of the post I would comment on. So I stopped using the msp bot to upvote my own comments.

Stumbling upon abuse:

While using the upvote channel of the PAL discord server, I would occasionally read other posts and upvote them. I found that some people's posts would be upvoted by msp through someone else's discord account. I thought that it was a kind gesture by another steemian. After digging deeper, I found that that steemian had created several discord accounts to exploit msp's time restraint of 12 hours. I reported it to the PAL mods and they were quick to take action. @gmuxx and @sammosk, mods of PAL, even gave me some SBD as a token of their appreciation.

transfer.JPG
proof-of-transfer (learnt this from @papa-pepper)

I was motivated to find and report more abuse but then something struck me.
It was the first time I thought about my actions on steemit, I was being a hypocritical cop, posting memes taken from reddit and 4chan just to make some free money, while reporting cases of abuse on the same platform. Somehow, I didn't let that thought haunt me for too long and continued plagiarizing and reporting others. I eventually, discovered other forms of spam and abuse and reported those to steemcleaners.

It felt really good, it felt like I was compensating for my shitposts by doing a few good deeds but without stopping the my own bad deeds. To make things worse, I also began using randowhale, bellyrub, minnowbooster, and treeplanter to increase my post payouts.

A few weeks later, I saw @sherlockholmes and some of his posts and was really inspired by his work. Simultaneously, I felt really guilty for plagiarizing content. I kept telling my self that what I was doing is nowhere close to how other steemians were abusing the platform. I seriously decided to change at that time but it was not until this week that I actually stopped shitposting memes.

Moving forward:

So that was a gist of my * negative * experience on steemit. Moving forward, I won't be posting as often. I will still be posting memes because after all, I'm xXxDankMemeLordxXx but I will be the original creator of those memes. If you go through my blog, you'll see a few resteems of games and contests that I take part in on steemit. I will continue to play these. Additionally, I will also continue to help fight spam and abuse by helping @steemcleaners and @sherlockholmes as much as I can.
Did I tell you that I'm also a programmer? I've recently been experimenting with the steem-python library and trying to create an application or bot. So, if you see some random comments and self-votes on my steemd page then please don't panic and doubt my intentions (I'm looking at you, @sherlockholmes).


randomcomments.JPG

On a side note, I'm going to need some help with python and my experiments, so if there's anyone who can help me, pm me on steemit.chat or discord.

tl;dr: I plagiarized and now I feel guilty and have since stopped doing it, trying to do something better for the community now.

On another side note, steem is cheap now, buy it:



Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @sqamemal I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit... Try not to overthink things !! YArrRRR!!!

thanks for sharing this and for being the GOOd guy! yes!!

Welcome to steemit. I hope you like it here and keep posting. :)

Great process that you went through, keep improving, be the change you want to see!

I secretly love memes as well!

I secretly love memes as well!

Lol, who doesn't!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sqamemal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice job on the post. Until there is more of an effort by the community to find and eliminate plagiarized content, there is just too much financial incentive to make this problem go away. The fact that Steemit has an open API and no controls on account creation, just makes the problem worse.

why dont you use drotto voting bot? why do u need to write ur own?

I'm not exactly creating a voting bot, but its similar.

my bot is drotto code.

How are you? @Sqamemal, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53