Some days (or nights) in the life of a doctor...

Hi! I'm 30, living in the USA, and working as a doctor.

I worked at the hospital most of the night last night and spent a good part of today sleeping, and then I started exploring Steemit for the first time. 

The funny thing is that about a year ago I was talking with a few of my friends and I proposed a thought experiment that I had been contemplating. The essence of it was that I wanted to create my own small virtual economy where "citizens" could own, buy, or sell stocks in trending ideas or topics. So when I came across Steemit, I laughed and texted my friends that it turned out someone had built what I had been contemplating. Hence, it was wonderful to stumble across this new online society, environment, ecosystem, or whatever we call it.

My life story to date: Born and raised in very small rural towns in the western USA, went to college and studied biochemistry, Arabic, and spent quite some time traveling around the world and living in the Middle East. I love the Middle East. It's a beautiful place, and I hope it will find some peace sometime soon because the people who live there are wonderful, too.

After college I started a research fellowship in epidemiology that included some training in statistical programming and a bit of computer science to expand on an undergrad class in Java, and then started medical school. Before finishing my masters fellowship, though, I spent some time in Zambia working on a research project.

I had picked up a few projects involving machine learning in my fellowship, so in medical school I started to work with scikit-learn, Orange, and more recently TensorFlow to apply machine learning classifiers to clinical research projects. In general, I think I'm an engineer or computer scientist at heart because I love projects like this but also felt throughout my life that medicine was sort of a calling, so currently I'm working to combine these two disciplines. If you hadn't noticed, I also love traveling, and in medical school I was able to visit Vietnam three times to work on a research project. Vietnam is also a wonderful country to visit.

Thanks for reading! The tl;dr: 30, doctor in USA, looking forward to discussing medicine, computer science, photography, travel, economics.

Sort:  

Hold faithfulness and sincerity as first principles.

Where when do you get your BEST IDEAS?

Those photos are coming on - keep at it and you'll nail photographic composition 100% every time! (your nearly there I'd say!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69812.20
ETH 3376.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78