This is me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

This is me

Background

I'm a 60 something ex boring accountant who had a massive mid-life crisis and saw the light, just in time. I walked out of my well paid job and started following the passions and dreams of my life, mostly concerning my love of mountains and wild places. Since 2002 I have I lived in a small spanish rural town on the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada mountain range.

I run a small Activity Holiday business, Spanish Highs. We have a small team of enhusiastic and professional people who all share similar aims and aspirations. This allows us not only to go up into the mountains of Spain but also further afield to the Patagonian Icefields and the Kamchatka volcanoes east of Siberia.

In November 2017 I became the author of the guidebook Walking and Trekking in the Sierra Nevada, published by Cicerone Press in the UK.

IMG_20150728_125729.jpg

Likes

Very simple this! The wilderness. Places untouched by humans. Places you go to, to escape the demands of the modern rat race that civilisation has migrated to become. Also love rural Spain (obviously, I live there!) and the relaxed lifestyle and people here.

I also am a bit of an amateur geek. I develop websites, use linux desktops (Don't trust IOS, Microsoft et al), and enjoy technology advances up to a point. AI and Smart stuff in my home (apart from my phone) I will resist!

Dislikes

Corporate Greed, "Big Brother", Mainstream Media Propaganda, Internet Surveillance, Erosion of Human Liberties, Violence, the never-ending march to War! I could go on, but you get the idea.

Why Join Steemit?

I, like many, have become very concerned about the "fake news", censorship and propaganda we are subjected to on the internet. In particular the giants of Facebook, Google and Twitter spring to mind, but I think it affects most of the big internet players here. It is time for me to seek pastures new.

I am also rather disillusioned with the general populace that would rather flick through a newstream clicking the like button, rather than read any depth to an article. Hopefully Steemit users are more interested in the words you write, rather than what you had for lunch!

I first came across Steemit thanks to Caitlin Johnstone whom I followed on Twitter. She described this place without censorship, a place of relative internet freedom called Steemit. I decided to have a look.

What can you expect from me?

  1. Some sensational photos from my travels
  2. Some thoughtful writing about my travel and mountain experiences that may help others
  3. Some very grumpy posts about the downward spiral of humanity towards AI, IOT and further war mongering
  4. Current grumps include, the state of the NHS in the UK and homelessness worldwide

Thank you for taking the time to read about me.

Sort:  

Hey buddy, welcome to Steemit! If you've got any questions about getting started just let me know and I'll try my best to answer them for you.

Feel free to check out my blog if you like, I cover things like cryptocurrencies, making money online and gaming.

All the best :)

@nathan290595

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05