Road-Trippin' Eclipse 2017 Ashford, WA

IMG_3084.JPG

Hello Steemit! This is my first attempt at blogging and I liked to take this opportunity to introduce myself. I love traveling and would like to share a few details and pictures of a recent road trip I took in beautiful Washington state.

I left my home near Seattle WA at about 3:30pm on Sunday, the day before the eclipse. This was going to be a mini adventure, less than 24 hours, since I had to be back at work at 2:30 pm on Monday. You would think this event could of been scheduled on a 3 day holiday weekend instead of a workday, who do I speak to about this?!

My dear friend @gregquixote, (world traveler and soon to be famous author, and blogger) agreed to accompany me. He did the monotonous chore of driving and my job was to be the navigator with the help of google maps. Does anyone remember how we survived before we all started carrying a hand held device with all the knowledge known at this time to mankind?!

We were headed to Ashford WA, which sits about 6 miles outside of Rainier Nation Park. The population of this quaint town is 217 according to Wikipedia. I enjoyed my view of the scenic backroads and Mt Rainier from the passenger seat of my friend's truck.IMG_3145.JPG

Thanks to social media I learn about this celestial event only 3 weeks before it happened. I was lucky to find a vacant cabin to rent and Amazon delivered the much needed eye protection to my doorstep. Life is good!![IMG_2996.JPG]
()
Just putting this out on the grapevine...the rental company is called Three Bears Lodge and I stayed in The Little Bear Cabin. I give it 4 1/2 stars. The accommodations were clean and well maintained. The hot tub divine and the bed was very comfortable. Taking a half star off for the shower. If you stay there, remove the shower head from the bracket and adjust the temperature before allowing the scolding hot or the glacier freezing cold water to hit your naked body!

The big event finally arrived.IMG_3149.PNGThis is a screenshot from accuweather.com

The eclipse was only 95% and just 2% more than what I would of seen from my own front door. However, it was a great excuse to leave the city and take a short break from my busy summer work schedule. Had I not known this was taking place, I can not guarantee I would of realized it was even happening.

It felt like late afternoon. The temperature dropped and the shadows became very long.IMG_3101.JPG
Do you notice the eclipse shape in the shadows?IMG_3105.JPG
Here's another pic using my iPhone 7. Notice the reflection of the sun to the left.IMG_3116.JPG

After seeing videos from a friend who chased the totality, I have decided to put it on my bucket list. 95% sounds good but I want to experience 100%. Do places even take reservations for 2024 yet?

This was my first attempt at blogging. My fingers are crossed that it turns out when I push the POST button. I would gladly except help on how to navigate this exciting, new to me technology.

Journey safe!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @souixness I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank bottymcbotface! You rock!

Congratulations @souixness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @souixness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @souixness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi dear friend, welcome to Steemit. I want to welcome you on this amazing platform. If you have any questions concerning how to start here do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help you as much as I can.
I am a spiritual leader here on steemit, should you need to read God's word or receive a prayer, you are welcome on my blog as well.
You can Follow me too at @pastorlea
God bless you in your new journey on steemit...

Thank you very much for the warm welcome pastorlea!

Here is something I will like you to know about this platform, we all face the challenge of not been followed and upvoted as we want on steemit. Here is a solution for those of us looking for more people to follow us and enjoy our posts. If you think you are in that category of people, then you are welcome to join SteemFollower and you will be amaze of how fast you will go here. Here is the link, simply click it and follow the instructions given: https://steemfollower.com/?r=430
If you wanna make some extra friends via messenger steemit... here is the website: www.steemit.chat

Thank you so much, everything so confusing now. This will help a lot

Here is something I will like you to know about this platform, we all face the challenge of not been followed and upvoted as we want on steemit. Here is a solution for those of us looking for more people to follow us and enjoy our posts. If you think you are in that category of people, then you are welcome to join SteemFollower and you will be amaze of how fast you will go here. Here is the link, simply click it and follow the instructions given: https://steemfollower.com/?r=430
If you wanna make some extra friends via messenger steemit... here is the website: www.steemit.chat

Welcome to the Community, Souixness :) Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunpoom

Thanks for the welcome knunpoom

Its really cool! :)

Nice eclipse photos! I am a new-bee to and posted for first time today.

Thanks, I'll check you out

Congratulations @souixness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @souixness! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56776.60
ETH 2424.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37