Hello SteemIt!

Howdy Steemit community, my name is Dan.

This is my first post on SteemIt, and seemed like a natural place to start. I've been a blockchain and decentralization enthusiast for a while, but only got really excited when I learned about Ethereum right around Frontier. I quickly got swept up in the beautiful narrative for the future that the technology crafted.

Like Ethereum, Steemit feels like a radical experiment in the world of content creation - taking the singular focus of a blog, the community aspects of Wattpad, the curation of Reddit, and putting them in an environment where content creators can share in the value they create.

I've been an attempted blogger since Geocities was a thing. Which means I have a long web history of bad poetry, silly stories, amateur graphic designs, and college newspaper opinion pieces. I look forward to joining Steemit and sharing some of my best content with the community. My writing has hopefully matured into interesting pieces on career advice, technology, and the world as I see it.

About Me

I've had an amazing mix of past lives and tend to be a dabbler. I grew up as a chicken farmer from small town Ohio. I've been a code monkey working in a closet. I've been an intern for AMD, Verizon Wireless, and even Google. I've worked through a CompSci degree with a writing minor and an MBA. I've lived in Austin, Seattle, D.C., and have finally settled in the San Francisco. Otherwise, I enjoy traveling and have sampled hákarl in Iceland, amazing sushi in Japan, and pisco sours in Peru.

Currently, I'm a solutions engineer and team lead for Cloudflare, a seven year old startup that works with roughly 10% of the web. My day job consists of supporting our Enterprise customers and wearing whatever hat necessary to keep things moving forward. Its a fun, challenging role at a great, growing company. I get to live at the intersection between fascinating people and amazing technology.

Future Posts

My goal is to live an interesting life. Ideally, I can bring you along on lessons learned, unique observations, and the future as I see it from Silicon Valley. I love the thought of stealing a piece of the future from California and giving it away to the parts of the world that tend to lag behind. Basically, how can I take the decentralized, long-tail dream of SteemIt and Ethereum and give it to my parents in Ohio? If I figure it out, I'll let you know, SteemIt.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for the interesting introduction, and welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steemit Dan!!

@nba05 Steemit's 13 Year Old Blogger!!!

Welcome to Steemit man!
Looking forward to your future posts, you seem to already be living an interesting life :D
Followed!

Welcome to Steemit Platform. Upvoted and Following you.

Welcome! Let you be lucky here!

Welcome Dan!
Greetings from Venezuela :)

Welcome @
Here is few tips for you
firstly, follow me @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform
secondly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
thirdly, engage(upvote, comment, resteem) other people posts to help guide your grow

Hello and welcome to steemit @somethingsubtle . Greeting from India. I am going to follow you as I want to get more updates from you. Hope you will follow me back. Have a great time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74