Introduceyourself: A former journalist, amateur economist, writer, poet and mother

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steem,

I am an indigenous woman from the area known as Vancouver Island, British Columbia in Canada. I belong to the Indian Band called "Cowichan Tribes". One of those tribes is known as Somena or "S'amuna" which is where I took my steemit username from. I was taken from my native indian family via a process known in Canada as the "60's Scoop" when I was very young. I was placed in a non-native home and raised without contact with my family or my language or culture. I started looking for my biological family after I became a single mother in 1994. I found my family in 1997 and returned home to my Indian reserve to live in 1998. I became very involved in politics and activism at that time. I also became involved in journalism. I wrote for the National Post, The Winnipeg Free Press, the Cowichan Valley Citizen and other publications. My activism even appeared in the New York Times and Homemakers magazine. I did some work on TV and radio.

I was heavily influenced by reading Dr.David Friedman's book "The Machinery of Freedom" - and was able to spend about 2-3 years discussing and debating anarcho--capitalism with him when I participated on discussions on usenet and IRC back in the 1990's. I am a huge fan of Ludwig Von Mises, the author of "Human Action" - and I consider myself an anarcho-primitivist but not like many of the anarcho primitivists I have encountered who don't seem to have an actual connection an actual native tribe or culture or even language.

I have been learning the Hul'qumi'num language of my ancestors for the past 6 years. I started my own currency (see below here) http://www.tetla.org

To help fund language classes. It is my dream to make enough money here on steemit that I could get the book "Goodnight Moon" - translated into the Hul'qumi'num language and reprinted so that many more people can learn the Hul'qumi'num language. It is a language that dates back 13,000 years+. It contains much wisdom and common sense.

In addition to my other hobbies and interests I like to weave cedar into jewelry and hats. Below is me in a hat that I wove....

cedarhat1.jpg

I also bead. I make these little hummingbirds...in all different colours. I custom make them as well and will gladly sell some for any kind of cryptocurrency. Just let me know if you would like to buy one.

beaededhumer2.jpg

I'm the mother to 2 boys... 1 is now fully grown and on his own at the age of 23. The other is 11.

meanddoug.jpg
That is me and my little guy, going for a walk years ago.
I am in the middle of a divorce.

I got interested in steemit because I saw the potential for me to get back into Journalism at some point because of the blockchain making it impossible for things to get "disapeared down the memory hole" -- and of course, I would love to get back to the work of writing for a living.

Anyways -- that's about all for now. I thank you for taking the time to read this
Feel free to AMA.
Cheers.
Or as we say in Hul'qumi'num "Hey'ey'owuth" (until next time)

Sort:  

I admire your dream of translating Goodnight Moon into your native language. That feels like a brilliant goal, and I believe Steemit will help you get there. And your artwork is very impressive to me. First time I've seen anything woven from cedar. I enjoy cedar for various art projects too, like smudge sticks and maraca handles. Your beaded hummingbird is superb. Do you have an Etsy store or something? I have a friend who is a glass blower, and he has a special way with hummingbird art as well. Welcome to Steemit!

thanks... I have it up on my website www.tetla.org where I sell them. Thanks for the encouragement... I'm working hard on it! Cheers

Hi again. I want you to know I'm featuring this post of yours in a curated list I launched yesterday: The Top #11 List. Wishing you a great day, and enjoying knowing you already.

Oh wow! Thank you so much! Cheers!

Sure thing. You deserve it, you know. Hugs and high-fives to you and your family!

How are you? @Somena, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Hi there... very nice to meet you too. Thanks for commenting. I take it from your comment, you're a minarchist of sorts? ( Me too... On my good days I'm a minarchist... on the days where I despair about where the world is going I'm more of an anarchist) Cool to get your comment! Lets' stay in touch!.

Nice to meet you, @somena! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Thank you kindly! I will follow you! :) Cheers

Welcome to steemit @somena and I wish you luck for your future blogs. We are here to support each and everyone so always share your thoughts this is a great start to move forward and kudos for having 2 sons. You are a great person aim high and I'll see you on your next blog.
By the way, you can check on my profile too @purepinay! Take care and have a great day.

THANK YOU for that lovely warm introduction and kind response. I will follow you! Cheers!

Hey ! Welcome to Steemit, I hope you will have lots of fun interacting with the community. Have a great time n do follow me @manish22rai ....Cheers !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54