Secret Tracking added to your print outs?


A little about me:

I have been on Steemit for a little under a month and I haven't used the introduce yourself tag to let others know who I am.

I am into all things tech related, from crypto currencies to retro gaming.

Feel free to follow if you like the below post.


Secret Tracking added to your print outs?

It has recently come to light that many of the major printer manufacturers have been secretly adding a form of steganography to your print outs.

Steganography is the art of hiding data within other data.

The information provided includes the time and date the document was printed and the serial number of the printer.

Image from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Printer_steganography

These yellow dots which have been magnified 60 times, were found on a Xerox printout

The below image shows the hidden yellow dots which are visible when illuminated under blue light.

Image from Electronic Frontier Foundation

These dots are then plotted against a grid which will reveal the hidden data (time, date and serial number of printer)

Image from Electronic Frontier Foundation

This technology has come back into the public eye after the NSA made public charges against a former employee for apparently leaking confidential documents.

It is believed by examining these leaked documents they could see exactly when and where they were printed and from what printer.

Doe's anyone see an issue with this? Should printer manufacturers make this information more widely known to it's users?

It seems nothing is untraceable in this modern world even when printed out.

If you think you are hiding your digital footprint by making a hard copy, then think again as it seems not even the physical world is safe.

Big brother is always watching 👀


Please Upvote, Resteem, and Follow


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit.com

Welcome to family :)

Which family?

Welcome to the community!

Welcome to steemit.

Thanks for the welcome. Followed you

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks for the welcome. Followed you

@somecoolname Welcome to Steemit! Hope you find this to be a great place to share your ideas and thoughts. Keep Steeming on!

  • Upvoted, resteemed and following. ✌

Thanks for the welcome. Followed you back. The upvote and resteem is appreciated.

I saw you are a new follower of mine and wanted to come say hello and welcome to Steemit! To show you I support you, I've found an original post of yours to upvote and curate. My way of saying thanks, I look forward to your content! - @enginewitty

Thanks for the welcome.

Lol ya np 😁

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here
I comment to your post to follow me. and I will follow you

I am@istiaq69 , my real name istiaq ahmed:)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Thanks for the welcome. Followed you

Welcome to Steem @somecoolname I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hi somecoolname interesting post,welcome to steemit great place to express and learn new things, enjoy.
@kevinace

Thank you. Followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21