Hi, I'm snipe

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

I'm a developer/security nerd formerly from New York City, and now based out of San Diego, California. I've been in tech for about 20 years, and wrote a few programming books a very long time ago, none of which anyone should care about anymore.  I started an open source IT asset management project  called Snipe-IT a few years back, and accidentally made a successful business out of it, so that's my main gig now, but I still have some other fun projects like LessThanThrees, BanBuilder and NoFucksToGive.Today.

I occasionally get to speak at conferences, usually on IT/operational/application security topics, so if that's something you're into, you can check out my talk in Paris at dotScale. It's only 17 minutes or so, and I think it's one of my better ones. 

In an effort to work towards a better work/life balance, I'm currently learning more about photography, and trying to reconnect with my love of drawing and painting. It's slow going, but I'm enjoying the process, and I think it's important to have something you spend time on that isn't directly tied to making money. My favorite lens right now is an f1.4 prime lens on my Nikon 5330. Here are two shots I took that I don't hate.

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

(The steemit preview is showing a weird tilde character on them, but I don't know if that's a steemit thing.  But if you're interested in learning photography, you can check out some of my annotated photos with learnings on Flickr.)

I've been lucky enough to get to do some pretty weird stuff in my life, like working with tigers, and raising thousands of dollars for the Electronic Frontier Foundation by getting a mohawk (which I still have). I sometimes feel like the weirdest stuff is behind me, but I'm always looking for the next weird thing. 

Anyway, that's me. I'm mostly focused on FOSS (free, open-source software) and trying to learn how to be a better boss/partner/human. Since this whole steemit thing seems pretty nerdy, if you happen to be going to Defcon this year and you see me there, be sure to say hi. I don't bite much.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, upvoted and followed

Welcome to steem nation

Welcome Alison ! @snipe - you are gonna love tha Steemit ! Impressive speech, congratulations on your success and accomplishments
LMAN.GIF

Welcome to steemit.

HAHAHa, I love your 0 fucks given website! Genius!

Welcome to Steemit, the 'Stache approves!

Nice to see you :) have a great time .
Follow me @adilmaher

Welcome @snipe aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

@slickhustler007
#minnowtowhale
#minnowsupport

Great photos! I just moved over to a prime lens myself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31